book cover of Honorable Whoredom at a Penny a Word

Honorable Whoredom at a Penny a Word

A collection of stories by

Rediscover the Early Ellison. This collection restores to print fifteen never-collected tales from the first dozen years of his career. Hard-hitting crime stories like "Thrill Kill," "Girl at Gunpoint," "Kill Joy," "Knife/Death" and "Burn My Killers!" share the table of contents with stories of betrayal, including "Death Climb," "Riff," "Mac's Girl," and "The Honor in the Dying." And, together for the first time, Ellison's three detective stories featuring insurance investigator Jerry Killian. Toss in the solo outing of a diminutive private dick named Big John Novak (of whom Ellison expected to write much more, but never did) and a sexy Western called "Saddle Tramp" and you've got quite an assemblage of tales from the seamier side of life. All that, plus "The Final Movement," a never-before-published story from the mid-1950s. Better than a poke in the eye with a white-hot bone of Amenhotep, I think you'll agree.

Used availability for Harlan Ellison's Honorable Whoredom at a Penny a Word

Paperback Editions

November 2013 : USA Paperback

Title: Honorable Whoredom at a Penny a Word
Author(s): Harlan Ellison
ISBN: 0-9895257-2-4 / 978-0-9895257-2-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Edgeworks Abbey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA