book cover of Wings of Ebony
Added by 3 of our members

Wings of Ebony

(2021)
(The first book in the Wings of Ebony series)
A novel by

 
 
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games, the entire first printing of this novel will be signed!

“Make a way out of no way” is just the way of life for Rue. But when her mother is shot dead on her doorstep, life for her and her younger sister changes forever. Rue's taken from her neighborhood by the father she never knew, forced to leave her little sister behind, and whisked away to Ghizon—a hidden island of magic wielders.

Rue is the only half-god, half-human there, where leaders protect their magical powers at all costs and thrive on human suffering. Miserable and desperate to see her sister on the anniversary of their mother’s death, Rue breaks Ghizon’s sacred Do Not Leave Law and returns to Houston, only to discover that Black kids are being forced into crime and violence. And her sister, Tasha, is in danger of falling sway to the very forces that claimed their mother’s life.

Worse still, evidence mounts that the evil plaguing East Row is the same one that lurks in Ghizon—an evil that will stop at nothing until it has stolen everything from her and everyone she loves. Rue must embrace her true identity and wield the full magnitude of her ancestors’ power to save her neighborhood before the gods burn it to the ground.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A powerful, thoughtful, and masterful exploration of #BlackGirlMagic that enthralls you from the first page and refuses to let you go." - Alechia Dow

"A heart-racing thrilling fantasy that sucks you in from the very first page. J. Elle has such a voracious voice and she's about to change the game!" - Tiffany D Jackson

"J. Elle has crafted an unapologetic heroine determined to save her block from agents of stolen magic in this immersive hidden world. A thrilling and irresistible new saga about loyalty and lineage." - Kim Johnson

"A remarkable, breathtaking, earthshaking, poetic thrillride bristling with magic, life, and so much love. Rue and her incredible adventures will change the world." - Daniel José Older

"There is little on earth more powerful than seeing a reflection of the self, not only as it is, but also as it COULD be. Wings of Ebony is a rooftop-shout of affirmation that black girls from ALL walks of life are magic." - Nic Stone

"Wings of Ebony is an intense, page-turner of a book about magic, sisterhood, community and family. Debut author J. Elle offers us a richly-wrought world, weaving together past and present with a rare blend of deft insight and keen humor that leaves the reader wanting more." - Sabaa Tahir

"The best fantasy novels invent alternate worlds in order to illuminate our own. Wings of Ebony is one of them—a bold, inventive, big-hearted and deeply perceptive vision of a Black girl’s journey to reclaim her magic from forces determined to destroy her. The parallels to our current reality are unmistakable and the book brings us all a much-needed ray of hope." - Nicola Yoon


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for J Elle's Wings of Ebony

Hardback Editions

January 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
ISBN: 1-5344-7067-0 / 978-1-5344-7067-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
ISBN: 1-5344-7068-9 / 978-1-5344-7068-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
ISBN: 1-79712-038-7 / 978-1-79712-038-6
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
Publisher: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wings of Ebony
Author(s): J Elle
Publisher: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon UK