book cover of Hemlock Bay
Added by 16 members
 

Hemlock Bay

(2024)
(The fifth book in the Rachel Savernake Golden Age Mysteries series)
A novel by

 
 
'Martin Edwards is a true master of British crime writing' RICHARD OSMAN

'Combines all the things I love most about crime fiction: atmospheric settings, twisty plots, intriguing characters and an unforgettable protagonist' ELLY GRIFFITHS

TEST YOUR WITS AGAINST RACHEL SAVERNAKE!

A CLUEFINDER AT THE BACK OF THE BOOK HIGHLIGHTS 47 HINTS IN THE TEXT TO THE SOLUTION OF THE INGENIOUS PUZZLES.

Basil Palmer plans to murder a man called Louis Carson. The problem is he doesn't know anything about his intended victim, not who he is nor where he lives.

After learning that Carson runs a hotel in Hemlock Bay, a playground for the wealthy and privileged, Palmer invents a false identity. Posing as Dr Seamus Doyle, he journeys to the coast plotting murder along the way.

Meanwhile, after hearing a fortune teller has predicted a murder in a place called Hemlock Bay, amateur sleuth Rachel Savernake rents a cottage there, determined to discover for herself the serpent that has slithered into this idyllic Eden.

Murder does occur at the resort, and after meeting a mysterious doctor called Seamus Doyle, Rachel finds herself entering a maze of intricate mysteries – just where she likes to be…

The fifth ingenious Rachel Savernake Golden Age Mystery, which can be read in any order, for fans of Ann Cleeves, Sophie Hannah and AK Benedict.

DISCOVER THE REST OF THIS INCREDIBLE SERIES

#1 GALLOWS COURT
#2 MORTMAIN HALL
#3 BLACKSTONE FELL
#4 SEPULCHRE STREET
#5 HEMLOCK BAY

Praise for Martin Edwards


'Crime fiction is blessed to have Martin Edwards.'
NEW YORK TIMES
'Highly recommended, with a touch of the gothic.'
ANN CLEEVES
'Martin Edwards celebrates and satirises the genre with wit and affection... He leaves you wanting more.'
THE TIMES
'The brilliant Savernake is a fascinatingly enigmatic character.'
WASHINGTON POST
'Martin Edwards holds his own with the best of classic crime.'
DAILY MAIL
'Reads as if Ruth Rendell were channelling Edgar Wallace.'
MICK HERRON
'If you haven't yet discovered Martin Edwards' books, you are in for a treat. His books are wonderful, filled with compelling characters, smart plots, great writing.'
LOUISE PENNY


Genre: Historical Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors