New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous book

The Wardrobe Mistress

(2017)
A novel by

 

"Fresh and exuberant."
Rosanna Ley


"Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant stories, memorable characters and pacy writing!."
Tracy Rees


One day, Vanessa would return and unwrap her father's secrets. She might even remember the mysterious scarred woman's name, and push the little gold key that she'd been given at her father's graveside into a lock and hear it click...

London 1945, and as victory unfurls throughout Europe, a young war widow steps aboard a train in search of a new life. Clutching the key to an unknown inheritance, Vanessa Kingcourt can no longer ignore the pull of the threads that draw her to the old Farren Theatre; an enchanted place, seeped in memories of her actor father and of Eva, the seamstress who took a lock of her hair with a promise she would return.

Now owned by troubled ex-sea captain, Alistair, The Farren is in need of a Wardrobe Mistress and a new lease of life. With no experience and no budget for supplies, Vanessa must use her intuition to create beautiful, elaborate costumes from whatever scraps of silk and thread survived the blitz. It's a seemingly impossible task, but a welcome distraction as she struggles to resist Alistair's advances.

The war may be over, but for Vanessa the heart-ache has only just begun - what she discovers will unravel family secrets sewn deep into the very fabric of the London theatre scene. Will she repeat the same terrible mistakes her father made? Will she ever dare to love again?

From the Festival of Romantic Fiction's Best Historical Read and USA Today bestselling author, comes a wonderfully evocative wartime drama perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathleen Tessaro.

What readers are saying about The Wardrobe Mistress:


'Beautifully told, this is a lush, descriptive story about life after World War II' Cayo Costa 5*

'Really enjoyed this novel - many layers of intrigue, a sumptuous theatre setting and the background of WW2 all make for a complex novel of split personalities, shadows behind the curtains and never really knowing who, or what, is just out of sight, stage left. The writing was strong and lyrical throughout and the plot unfolded with all the flair and panache you might expect of a top London theatre. Bravo Ms Evans - encore!' The Book Trail 5*

'Full of intrigue, great characters & an epic storyline. Natalie has definitely done it again! Just want to pick it up, don't want to be at work!!!!' Book Club at Mim's

'It's the kind of book you know you need to put down but can't. I highly recommend The Wardrobe Mistress, especially to fans of historical novels.' Goodreads

'I absolutely adored this beautiful book. The author's writing is a treat to the senses, bringing scenes alive with her stunning prose. I lived this amazing book. Highly recommend this colourful, poignant tale to everyone!' Renita D'Silva 5*

'It's full of mystery and intrigue, and the characters will surprise you time after time.' Goodreads

What readers are saying about Natalie Meg Evans's other bestselling novels:



'Natalie's books are a treasure trove of vibrant, vivid stories, memorable characters and pacy writing!' Tracy Rees, bestselling author of Amy Snow

'Another awesome book from Natalie Meg Evans! Love, love, love this author! Cora's story is all her own and just as exciting. Can't wait for more of this author.' Nik Book Lover

'Travelling between modern day and World War II, Evans evokes the splendour and tragedy of an earlier era.' For the Love of Books

'The Dress Thief sweeps readers into the heart of Paris during the rise of the fashion industry... one to be savoured for its wonderfully rich descriptions and details.' The Great Historical Fiction Review

Genre: Historical Romance
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Rare Objects
Kathleen Tessaro

The Cavendon Women
(Cavendon Hall, book 2)

Barbara Taylor Bradford

Fiercombe Manor
Kate Riordan

House of Shadows
Pamela Hartshorne
 
Used availability for Natalie Meg Evans's The Wardrobe Mistress


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Paperback Editions

August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Wardrobe Mistress
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
ISBN: 1-78429-938-3 / 978-1-78429-938-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

June 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Wardrobe Mistress
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   

June 2017 : USA Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Wardrobe Mistress: A heart-wrenching wartime romance
Author(s): Natalie Meg Evans
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


Search for