book cover of When the Lights Go Down
Added by 7 of our members

When the Lights Go Down

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache...

This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.


'History and Romance. A touching saga' - My Weekly

It is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.

As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...

What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:

'This book was great. Couldn't put it down, well worth reading'

'Like a fairy tale ending'

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Pamela Evans's When the Lights Go Down

Hardback Editions

March 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...
Author(s): Pamela Evans
ISBN: 1-4722-1962-7 / 978-1-4722-1962-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...
Author(s): Pamela Evans
ISBN: 1-4722-1960-0 / 978-1-4722-1960-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down
Author(s): Pam Evans
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down
Author(s): Pam Evans
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...
Author(s): Pamela Evans
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war...
Author(s): Pamela Evans
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA