book cover of She Chose Me
Added by 9 of our members

She Chose Me

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of The Girl Before, Into the Water and The Couple Next DoorNot having a child can change your life as much as having one.

Grace has returned to London after twenty years abroad to manage her dying mother’s affairs. When she receives a blank Mother’s Day card in the post, she is confused and unsettled. Who could have sent it to her and why? She isn’t a mother.

Another Mother’s Day card arrives. Then come the silent phone calls. Haunted by disturbing flashbacks, Grace starts to unravel. Someone is out to get her. Someone who knows what she has done. Someone who will make her face the past she has run from for so long.

Emerson creates an intricate web in this intense psychological thriller whose high energy and fast-pace will have you racing towards the climactic conclusion. Perfect for fans of The Girl Before.

REVIEWS

‘I read this in two days. Fast-paced, dark and unsettling, this is an intelligently written, edge-of-your-seat thriller. A compelling pageturner with a satisfying ending and a late twist that I didn’t see coming’ Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood

She Chose Me is a cleverly constructed, elegant page turner that will hook you from the very first line. An enormously enjoyable read’ Louise Dean, award-winning author of Becoming Strangers

‘If you enjoy tension, suspense and surprise, She Chose Me, Tracey Emerson’s brilliant debut novel is your next favourite read. Emerson ratchets up the suspense from the first page and never lets it go. Dignified by deft and ingenious plotting, forensically insightful characterisation and impeccable prose, this psychological thriller delivers on all levels’ Lesley Glaister, award-winning author of The Squeeze 

She Chose Me is an accomplished debut that despite being tightly plotted manages to retain a really refreshing rawness… The fastpaced story kept me guessing until the end and raised many thought provoking questions about family, motherhood, rejection and mental health. I do love a story that intrigues as much as it provokes, and to this end Tracey Emerson has scored on both counts. Very well done’ Cath Weeks, author of Mothers

‘A great read. I loved the two female protagonists, particularly the brilliantly chilling anti-heroine’ Sarah J. Naughton, author of Tattletale

Moving, compelling and beautifully written. It deserves to fly off the shelves’ Mel McGrath, author of Give Me the Child

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"She Chose Me is a cleverly constructed, elegant page turner that will hook you from the very first line. An enormously enjoyable read." - Louise Dean

"If you enjoy tension, suspense and surprise, She Chose Me, Tracey Emerson’s brilliant debut novel is your next favourite read. Emerson ratchets up the suspense from the first page and never lets it go. Dignified by deft and ingenious plotting, forensically insightful characterisation and impeccable prose, this psychological thriller delivers on all levels." - Lesley Glaister

"Moving, compelling and beautifully written. It deserves to fly off the shelves." - Mel McGrath

"A great read. I loved the two female protagonists, particularly the brilliantly chilling anti-heroine." - Sarah J Naughton

"She Chose Me is an accomplished debut that despite being tightly plotted manages to retain a really refreshing rawness… The fastpaced story kept me guessing until the end and raised many thought provoking questions about family, motherhood, rejection and mental health. I do love a story that intrigues as much as it provokes, and to this end Tracey Emerson has scored on both counts. Very well done." - Cath Weeks

"I read this in two days. Fast-paced, dark and unsettling, this is an intelligently written, edge-of-your-seat thriller. A compelling pageturner with a satisfying ending and a late twist that I didn’t see coming." - Susan Elliot Wright


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tracey Emerson's She Chose Me

Hardback Editions

July 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
ISBN: 1-4448-4151-3 / 978-1-4448-4151-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: She Chose Me: Intelligent psychological thriller that will keep you guessing...
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
ISBN: 1-78719-873-1 / 978-1-78719-873-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
ISBN: 1-78771-408-X / 978-1-78771-408-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
ISBN: 1-78771-443-8 / 978-1-78771-443-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Chose Me
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Chose Me: Intelligent psychological thriller that will keep you guessing...
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Chose Me: Intelligent psychological thriller that will keep you guessing...
Author(s): Tracey Emerson
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU