book cover of Interviewing the Dead
Added by 12 of our members

Interviewing the Dead

(2020)
(The first book in the Carlyle & West Victorian Mysteries series)
A novel by

 
 
David Field is back with a brand new Victorian mystery series! Perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Emily Organ, Anne Perry and Robin Paige…

Should you be afraid of the dead – or the living?

London, 1892



Over two hundred years ago, in 1665, a mass grave was dug to house the hundreds of corpses who fell victim to the Black Death. When Aldgate Underground station was extended, the workmen discovered the grave and unceremoniously dumped the bones, to make way for the new track.

Now, a renowned spiritualist is claiming the dead are rising to punish Londoners.

Strange encounters start to be reported in London’s East End with some people dying from unexplained causes.

People start to panic, and distressed parishioners consult local preacher, Matthew West, looking for reassurance.

Matthew is at a loss and turns to local doctor, James Carlyle, for answers.

Carlyle and West have very different views on science and religion, but they decide to work together to get the bottom of the mysterious deaths.

Has a curse really been put on London? Have the dead risen from their graves?

Or could a serial killer be loose in the city…?


INTERVIEWING THE DEAD is the first crime thriller in an exciting new historical crime series, the Carlyle & West Victorian Mysteries, private investigations set in Victorian London and packed full of suspense.

THE CARLYLE & WEST VICTORIAN MYSTERY SERIES:
BOOK ONE: Interviewing the Dead

BOOK TWO: Death Comes But Twice
BOOK THREE: Confronting the Invisible

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Deception by Gaslight
(Gilded Gotham Mystery, book 1)
Kate Belli
thumb
Death In The Harbour
(Inspector Alun Ryga, book 2)
Pauline Rowson

Used availability for David Field's Interviewing the Dead

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Interviewing The Dead: The dead are rising, and the living are dying... (Carlyle & West Victorian Mysteries)
Author(s): David Field
ISBN: 1-913518-71-X / 978-1-913518-71-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Interviewing The Dead: The dead are rising, and the living are dying... (Carlyle & West Victorian Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): David Field
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU