New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

English Concubine

(The fourth book in the Straits Quartet series)
A novel by

In the fourth and final volume of The Straits Quartet, Charlotte Macleod is the English concubine. Her love affair with Zhen, wealthy Chinese merchant, is an open scandal to both the English and the Chinese communities. Singapore in 1860 is a vice-ridden town filled 'with the dregs of humanity from two continents'. Opium makes up half of the British Empire's trade in the East and, from Singapore, the Chinese triads control the vast distribution of chandu, refined opium, which is spread throughout the south seas. Turf wars are fought on the high seas and on the streets of Chinatown to control the mighty profits of this trade. The colonial government, impoverished and ineffectual, can do nothing about it. Only the Chinese godfather, the lord of the kongsi, has that power through his control of the coolie, prostitute and opium trade. When Zhen is forced to become the godfather of the kongsi, cracks appear in Charlotte's world and when Alexander, her son, unaware of his true paternity, arrives from Scotland and begins a secret and incestuous affair with his own half sister, it explodes. Opium, murder, incest, suicide, passion and love. A heady combination in the sin city of the south seas.

Used availability for Dawn Farnham's English Concubine

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Paperback Editions

April 2015 : Paperback
thumbTitle: The English Concubine: Passion and Power in 1860s Singapore (The Straits Quartet)
Author(s): Farnham
ISBN: 9814423629 / 978-9814423625
Publisher: Mns
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2013 : Paperback
thumbTitle: English Concubine
Author(s): Dawn Farnham
ISBN: 981442322X / 978-9814423229
Publisher: Monsoon
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

April 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The English Concubine: Passion and Power in 1860's Singapore (The Straits Quartet)
Author(s): Dawn Farnham
Publisher: Monsoon Books Pte. Ltd.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for