book cover of An Art Lover\'s Guide to Paris and Murder
Added by 64 members
 

An Art Lover's Guide to Paris and Murder

(2024)
(The seventh book in the Countess of Harleigh Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and Jane Austen alike, the latest in this delightful mystery series described as “pure, unadulterated fun” (Publishers Weekly) combines historical intrigue, wit, and a sophisticated Victorian setting with a charmingly independent heroine.

Frances and her husband, George, have two points of interest in Paris. One is an impromptu holiday to visit the Paris Exposition. The other is personal. George’s Aunt Julia has requested her nephew’s help in looking into the suspicious death of renowned artist Paul Ducasse. Though Julia is not entirely forthcoming about her reasons, she is clearly a woman mourning a lost love.
 
At the exposition, swarming with tourists, tragedy casts a pall on the festivities. A footbridge collapses. Julia is among the casualties. However, she was not just another fateful victim. Julia was stabbed to death amid the chaos. With an official investigation at a standstill, George and Frances realize that to solve the case they must dig into Julia’s life—as well as Paul’s—and question everything and everyone in Julia’s coterie of artists and secrets.
 
They have no shortage of suspects. There is Paul’s inscrutable widow, Gabrielle. Paul’s art dealer and manager, Lucien. Julia’s friend Martine, a sculptress with a jealous streak. And art jurist, Monsieur Beaufoy. The investigation takes a turn when it’s revealed that George has inherited control of Julia’s estate—and another of her secrets. While George investigates, Frances safeguards their new legacy, and is drawn further into danger by a killer determined to keep the past buried.


Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dianne Freeman's An Art Lover's Guide to Paris and Murder


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors