New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of A James Bond Omnibus: From Russia, With Love; Doctor No; Goldfinger

A James Bond Omnibus: From Russia, With Love; Doctor No; Goldfinger

(A book in the James Bond Omnibus series)
An omnibus of novels by

Born in London in 1908, Ian Fleming worked variously as a banker and journalist before serving in the British Naval Intelligence during World War II. He published his first novel, "Casino Royale" in 1953 and thus started the astoundingly successful James Bond novels and films. Fleming died in 1964.This omnibus collection includes the 3 quintessential stories in this series . While these are the 5th, 6th, and 7th books, they are at the apex of his popularity, the actual cold war and were the first 3 turned into movies as well . In "From Russia With Love (1957)", SMERSH is the Soviet organ of vengeance, of interrogation, torture and death. James Bond is dedicated to the destruction of its agents wherever he finds them. Then the cold eye of SMERSH focuses on Bond and far away in Moscow a trap is laid for him. In "Doctor No (1958)", M calls this case a soft option. Bond can't quite agree. The tropical island is luxurious, the seductive Honey Rider is beautiful and willing. However, they are both part of the empire of Dr No. His obsession is power, and his gifts are pain-shaped. In "Goldfinger (1959)", a friendly game of two-handed canasta turns out to be thoroughly crooked and a beautiful girl ends up dead. In Bond's first encounter with Auric Goldfinger - the world's cleverest, cruellest criminal - useful lessons are learned.


Hardback Editions

April 1997 : USA Hardback

Title: A James Bond Omnibus, Vol. 1: From Russia, With Love / Doctor No / Goldfinger
Author(s): Ian Fleming
ISBN: 1-56731-160-1 / 978-1-56731-160-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Fine Communications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for