book cover of The Skeletons of Scarborough House
Added by 1 of our members

The Skeletons of Scarborough House

(2017)
(The first book in the Chapelwick Mysteries series)
A novel by

 
 
Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate fudge cake comes served with a side of murder. Scarborough House is haunted, and it’s not doing much for Donovan Scarborough’s investment portfolio. No one wants to buy a place with levitating crockery, or (the wrong kind of) rhythmic pounding throughout the night. Luckily, Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet has just launched her own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and a one-eared pug called Lestat. They’re quick to take the case, even if it has already sort of (definitely) been given to Leo Dark, Melody’s rakish, despicable ex. Melody soon discovers the resident phantoms are three brothers, one who was murdered at twenty, while the others lived to old age. But did the family exile the right person, or did the true killer get away with it? Donovan Scarborough doesn’t care who solves the case. Whoever gets rid of the ghosts gets paid. Can Melody and her new crew untangle the mystery, and bring the brothers peace, before Leo? Or will his distracting sexiness and Melody’s bonkers family cause the agency to fall at its first hurdle? This is the PERFECT choice for fans of HY Hanna, Janet Evanovich, MC Beaton, and Gina LaManna, who’ll find themselves completely hooked and crying with laughter as they join Melody and her crew on their spooktastic adventure.This book was previously published as Melody Bittersweet and the Girls' Ghostbusting Agency.

What everyone’s saying about The Skeletons of Scarborough House:

I laughed so hard that I had to stop drinking my coffee for fear of spurting it all over my desk … I seriously can't remember the last time I laughed this hard … absofreakinglutely hilarious.’ 5* Well Read Pirate QueenAbsolutely fantastic from the first page. Did not stop smiling once. Emotional at parts but a super fun read throughout. The writing was amazing and had me totally hooked. Cannot wait for the sequel!’ Book Geek WritesAbsolutely hilarious … I have not laughed like that in a very, very long time … It’s a book that just keeps giving, right until the very end … Sheer brilliance!’ 5* The Writing GarnetI couldn't put this book down … so many comical moments, I was either laughing or smiling. If you are in need of cheering up definitely read this book … brilliant!’ 5* Rae ReadsUnputdownable, captivating and laugh out loud funny!! A definite must read!! 5+ Stars!! … I loved this story!Words Turn Me On ‘One of my favourite new books … so much heart, so much joy, so much laughter, and warmth. It's funny one minute, and has you tearing up the next … absolutely love this book … amazing.’ 5* Bookish EscapesAn absolute scream from start to finish! … Should you ever find yourself in dire need of cheering up, this will do the trick - guaranteed! IT’S FUN, IT’S FRISKY and IT’S FABULOUS! I'm already little 'cray cray' for the next case. CAN. NOT. WAIT!!!’ Little Bookness LaneAn absolute delight.’ 5* Bloomin Brilliant Books

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Designed to Death
(Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery, book 2)
Christina Freeburn
thumb
Cold Turkey
(Celebration Bay Mystery)
Shelley Freydont
thumb
Death in High Circles
(Falconer Files, book 10)
Andrea Frazer

Used availability for Kitty French's The Skeletons of Scarborough House

Paperback Editions

February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House: An absolutely hilarious cozy mystery: Volume 1 (The Chapelwick Mysteries)
Author(s): Kitty French
ISBN: 1-78681-173-1 / 978-1-78681-173-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House: Chapelwick Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Kitty French
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House: Chapelwick Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Kitty French
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House: Chapelwick Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Kitty French
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Skeletons of Scarborough House: Chapelwick Mysteries, Book 1
Author(s): Kitty French
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK