New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing

A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing

A collection of stories by

For fans of Walter Mosley, Eldridge Cleaver, Nalo Hopkinson, Philip K. Dick, Linton Kwesi Johnson, John Gardner, Chuck D., Steven Barnes, and Stephen King, comes A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing, a powerful and at times humorous and disturbing odyssey through modern and ancient African realities.

Journey with Minister Faust through the playful but angry re-imagining of recent history ("Jali Tales") to a revisionist take on D.W. Griffith's Birth of a Nation ("The Worth of a Nation"), a barbershop fight over Alice Walker ("De-Conking Some Sense from the Colour Purple") and a Grendel-style psychohistory of ancient Egypt's founding myth ("The Belly of the Crocodile," a companion story to Minister Faust's novel The Alchemists of Kush), among many others.

Bold, angry, and visionary, A Bad Bad Beat was Brewing demonstrates that Minister Faust is, in the words of Imaro author Charles R. Saunders, "shaping up to become a one-man New Wave in the SF genre. With the story-telling skills of a modern jali, the Minister creates new vistas of history, mythology, erudition, uplift, tragedy, triumph, and contemporary community activism."

Used availability for Minister Faust's A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: A Bad Bad Beat Was Brewing: An Africentric Scroll of Bizarre, Brutal, Inspiring and Supernatural Tales
Author(s): Minister Faust
Publisher: Narmer's Palette
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for