New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Standard Bearer

Standard Bearer

(2014)
(The first book in the Sword of Rome series)
A Novella by

 
 
"The coming man of historical fiction." - Saul David, bestselling author and historian.

Britain, 55 BC.

Julius Caesar's invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion - and history.

Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines. His mission is to hunt down a treacherous Roman agent, who is recruiting Britons to fight against the armies of Rome in Gaul.

Yet not all is what it seems and Oppius will fight for his life, as well as for Caesar and the glory of Rome, to complete his mission and find his way back home.

For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

The Sword of Rome series of novellas follow Julius Caesar and his centurion Lucius Oppius during their campaigns in Britain, Gaul and the Civil War. The stories are a blend of action, intrigue and Ancient History.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for 'Raffles: The Complete Innings'.

"Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime." - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Praise for 'A Hero of Our Time'.

'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.' - Nigel Jones, author of 'Countdown To Valkyrie'.

Praise for 'Warsaw'.

"Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book. The meticulous research and psychological insights light up one of the most ghastly episodes in the history of man's inhumanity to man."
Patrick Bishop, author of 'Fighter Boys' and 'A Good War'.

Richard Foreman
is the author of numerous best-selling Kindle books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Genre: Historical    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Defender of Rome
(Gaius Valerius Verrens, book 2)
Douglas Jackson
thumb
Sword of Rome
(Gaius Valerius Verrens, book 4)
Douglas Jackson
thumb
War At the Edge of the World
(Twilight of Empire, book 1)
Ian Ross
thumb
Rome: Sword of the Legion
(Sword of the Legion, book 1)
R Cameron Cooke

Used availability for Richard Foreman's Standard Bearer

Audio Editions

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Standard Bearer: Sword of Rome, Book 1
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Standard Bearer: Sword of Rome, Book 1
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Standard Bearer: Sword of Rome, Book 1
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer (Sword of Rome Book 1)
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA