New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Standard Bearer

Standard Bearer

(A book in the Sword of Rome series)
A Novella by

Britain, 55 BC.

Julius Caesar's invasion of the wild and mineral-rich land is becalmed, a stalemate exists between the forces of Rome and Britain. But the standard bearer of the Tenth Legion, Lucius Oppius, is about to display a depth of courage that will change the course of the invasion - and history.

Encamped upon the south coast Caesar, admiring the courage and skill of his standard bearer, orders Oppius to accompany a native British archer and go behind enemy lines. His mission is to hunt down a treacherous Roman agent, who is recruiting Britons to fight against the armies of Rome in Gaul.

Yet not all is what it seems and Oppius will fight for his life, as well as for Caesar and the glory of Rome, to complete his mission and find his way back home.

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer brings together history and action and adventure in a story which will appeal to fans of both Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer is the first book in a series of novellas featuring Lucius Oppius and the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

Praise for Augustus: Son of Rome

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction.' - Saul David, author of the Zulu Hart series)

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings

'Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.' - David Blackburn, The Spectator

Praise for A Hero of Our Time

'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.' - Nigel Jones, author of Countdown To Valkyrie

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous bestselling kindle books, including Augustus: Son of Rome and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of A Hero of Our Time, a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via

Similar Books by other authors...

The Field of Swords
(Emperor, book 3)

Conn Iggulden

The Death of Kings
(Emperor, book 2)

Conn Iggulden

Birth of the 10th Legion
(Marching With Caesar, book 1)

R W Peake

The Empty Throne
(Last Kingdom, book 8)

Bernard Cornwell
Used availability for Richard Foreman's Standard Bearer

See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US

Audio Editions

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
Title: Standard Bearer: Sword of Rome, Book 1
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

July 2014 : UK Audio edition
Title: Standard Bearer: Sword of Rome, Book 1
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Sword of Rome: Standard Bearer
Author(s): Richard Foreman
Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Search for