book cover of Sea Wife

Sea Wife

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Lionel Shriver, Kate Atkinson, and Jennifer Egan

From the highly acclaimed author of Schroder, a smart, sophisticated literary page turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a year-long sailing trip that upends all of their lives


Juliet is failing to juggle motherhood and her anemic dissertation when her husband, Michael, informs her that he wants to leave his job and buy a sailboat. The couple are novice sailors, but Michael persuades Juliet to say yes. With their two kids--Sybil, age seven, and George, age two, Juliet and Michael set off for Panama, where their forty-four-foot sailboat awaits them--a boat that Michael has christened the Juliet.

The initial result is transformative: their marriage is given a gust of energy, and even the children are affected by the beauty and wonderful vertigo of travel. The sea challenges them all--and most of all, Juliet, who suffers from postpartum depression.

Sea Wife is told in gripping dual perspectives: Juliet's first-person narration, after the journey, as she struggles to come to terms with the dire, life-changing events that unfolded at sea; and Michael's captain's log--that provides a riveting, slow-motion account of those same inexorable events.

Exuberant, harrowing, witty, and exquisitely written, Sea Wife is impossible to put down. A wholly original take on one of our oldest stories--survival at sea--it also asks a pertinent question for our polarized political moment: How does a crew with deep philosophical differences and outmoded gender roles bring a ship safely to shore?

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Taut as a thriller, emotionally precise yet threaded with lyricism. This is an unforgettable novel." - Claire Messud


Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Sea Wife: A novel
Author(s): Amity Gaige
ISBN: 0-525-65649-9 / 978-0-525-65649-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sea Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Amity Gaige
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sea Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Amity Gaige
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sea Wife: A novel
Author(s): Amity Gaige
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA