book cover of The Testimony of the Hanged Man
Added by 28 of our members

The Testimony of the Hanged Man

(2014)
(The fifth book in the Inspector Ben Ross Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A hanged man would say anything to save his life. But what if his testimony is true? Inspector Ben Ross is determined to uncover the truth in The Testimony of the Hanged Man, the fifth thrilling Victorian crime novel in Ann Granger's historical series. The perfect read for fans of Wilkie Collins and Anne Perry.

'A highly enjoyable series' - Scotsman

When Inspector Ben Ross is called to Newgate Prison by a man condemned to die by the hangman's noose he isn't expecting to give any credence to the man's testimony. But the account of a murder he witnessed over seventeen years ago is so utterly believable that Ben can't help wondering if what he's heard is true.

It's too late to save the man's life, but it's not too late to investigate a murder that has gone undetected for all these years.

What readers are saying about The Testimony of the Hanged Man:

'Without a doubt, Ann Granger is one of our most distinguished crime writers and should be better known'

'Not easy to stop reading once you have started'

'An excellent read, and like her previous Victorian detective books, very well researched'

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ann Granger's The Testimony of the Hanged Man

Hardback Editions

December 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Testimony Of The Hanged Man
Author(s): Ann Granger
ISBN: 0-7505-4188-1 / 978-0-7505-4188-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 5): A Victorian crime mystery of injustice and corruption
Author(s): Ann Granger
ISBN: 1-4722-0447-6 / 978-1-4722-0447-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 5): A Victorian crime mystery of injustice and corruption
Author(s): Ann Granger
ISBN: 1-4722-0450-6 / 978-1-4722-0450-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 5): A Victorian crime mystery of injustice and corruption
Author(s): Ann Granger
ISBN: 1-4722-0448-4 / 978-1-4722-0448-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: A Victorian London Murder Mystery (Inspector Ben Ross Mysteries Series, Book 5)
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: Inspector Ben Ross Mystery, Book 5
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man: A gripping Victorian crime mystery (The Inspector Ben Ross Mysteries Book 5)
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Canelo USA
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 5): A Victorian crime mystery of injustice and corruption
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Testimony of the Hanged Man (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 5): A Victorian crime mystery of injustice and corruption
Author(s): Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA