book cover of Murder in the Neighborhood
Added by 2 of our members
 

Murder in the Neighborhood

(2022)
A non fiction book by

 
 
On 6 September 1949, twenty-eight-year-old Howard Barton Unruh shot thirteen people in less than twelve minutes on his block in East Camden, New Jersey. The shocking true story of the first recorded mass shooting in America has never been told, until now.

The sky was cloudless that morning when twelve-year-old Raymond Havens left his home on River Road. His grandmother had sent him to get a haircut at the barbershop across the street—where he was about to witness his neighbor and friend Howard open fire on the customers inside.

Told through the eyes of young Raymond, who had visited Howard regularly to listen to his war stories, and the mother trying to piece together the disturbing inner workings of her son’s mind, Murder in the Neighborhood uncovers the chilling true story of Howard Unruh, the quiet loner who meticulously plotted his revenge on the neighbors who shunned him and became one of America’s first mass killers.

With Ellen’s access to Howard’s diaries, newly released police reports and psychiatric records alongside interviews with surviving family members, Murder in the Neighborhood is a compulsive page-turner that will have you asking—how well do we ever really know those around us? Are we ever really safe?

A gripping untold true story that will leave your heart pounding. Perfect for fans of In Cold Blood, If You Tell and American Predator.

Read what everyone is saying about Murder in the Neighborhood:

“An engrossing and utterly fascinating insight into a chilling and untold part of American history… impossible to put down.” Gregg Olsen, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If You Tell

“A phenomenal read… incredible insight to human behavior and the brain. Green did a remarkable job bringing this tragedy to life through a haunting and encapsulating narration. I will recommend this piece of work over and over.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

God! I can’t get enough of it! I wish I could read the book for the first time again!... fantastic.”

Chubby girl with a page-a-vu, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An absolute cracker of an account… Brilliant.” Nigel Adams Bookworm, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“I really enjoyed… very cleverly written… a fascinating and detailed accountI would recommend it to true crime aficionados.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“An arresting, exciting, compelling tale of true crime. Meticulously researched and pieced together into a narrative that is difficult to tear away from.” Goodreads reviewer

“Remarkable… A must for true crime fans.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“If you like true crime then I 100% recommend you read this book.” Goodreads reviewer

An excellent read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Well-crafted true crime that’s been wonderfully researched.” Book Zone




Used availability for Ellen J Green's Murder in the Neighborhood

Paperback Editions

April 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighbourhood: The true story of America's first recorded mass shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
ISBN: 1-909770-70-1 / 978-1-909770-70-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Thread
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2022 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The true story of America's first recorded mass shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
ISBN: 1-80019-807-8 / 978-1-80019-807-4
Publisher: Thread
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The True Story of America's First Recorded Mass Shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
Publisher: Hachette UK - Thread
Availability: Amazon   


April 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The True Story of America's First Recorded Mass Shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
Publisher: Hachette UK - Thread
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The True Story of America's First Recorded Mass Shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
Publisher: Hachette UK - Thread
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The True Story of America's First Recorded Mass Shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
Publisher: Hachette UK - Thread
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Murder in the Neighborhood: The true story of America's first recorded mass shooting
Author(s): Ellen J Green
Publisher: Thread
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU