New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Words in My Hand

The Words in My Hand

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Costa Book Awards Best First Novel (nominee)
'EXCELLENT... AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' - The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Words in My Hand is the re-imagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th-century Amsterdam, who works for Mr Sergeant the English bookseller. When a mysterious and reclusive lodger arrives - the Monsieur - Mr Sergeant insists everything must be just so. It transpires that the Monsieur is Rene Descartes. Helena's life, like that of so many women in history in history, is scarcely recorded. In The Words in My Hand she is a young woman who yearns for knowledge, who wants to write so badly she makes ink from beetroot and writes in secret on her skin - only to be held back by her position in society as a servant, and as a woman. Weaving together the story of Descartes' quest for reason with Helena's struggle for literacy, their worlds overlap as their feelings deepen; yet remain sharply divided. For all Descartes' learning, Helena has much to teach him about emotion and love. When reputation is everything and with so much to lose, some truths must remain hidden. Helena and Descartes face a terrible tragedy and ultimately have to decide if their love is possible at all.

    

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Guinevere Glasfurd's The Words in My Hand

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Words In My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
ISBN: 1-4736-1785-5 / 978-1-4736-1785-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Words In My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
ISBN: 1-4736-1787-1 / 978-1-4736-1787-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Words In My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
ISBN: 1-4736-1786-3 / 978-1-4736-1786-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Words in My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon   


January 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Words in My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Words In My Hand: Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016
Author(s): Guinevere Glasfurd
Publisher: Two Roads
Availability: Amazon UK