book cover of Siege Of Stars

Siege Of Stars

(2012)
(The first book in the Sigil Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
From Nature Editor Henry Gee comes a story of breathtaking scope and beloved characters. Spanning millions of years and the breadth of the universe, The Sigil Trilogy is an epic tale that explores the nature of humanity, belief, and love. The Universe is dying from within. No one knows how to save it, so the Elders give a young Drover a last ditch chance to stop the rot. If only she knew where to begin. Unaware of the threat to the universe, Ruxhana Fengen Kraa, Admiral of the 17th Rigel Fleet, is about to be cashiered for a stupendous tactical error. But Special Ops has an important and most bizarre job for him. Eons away in time, Jack Corstophine is an archaeologist on Earth with an intuition about the land that he can't put into words - until the beautiful and brilliant Jadis Markham comes into his life. Together, they discover that the landscape of Europe is far from natural. The Earth bears the scars of an ancient civilization that goes back millions of years - and has terrible implications for the future of mankind. The Sigil Trilogy traces the lives of compelling characters - people... entities... and... species... - through time and space. It's magnificent in background, beautifully written, and with the most memorable characters. The Sigil Trilogy is spellbinding, funny, thoughtful, and touching all at the same time. Complete with complex mysteries, massive battles, romance, hot aliens, steampunk cities, good scotch, armageddon, it's all here - you won't be able to put it down. Siege of Stars is the first volume of The Sigil Trilogy, Henry Gee's incredible opus. The second and third volumes, SCOURGE OF STARS and RAGE OF STARS, are completed and in production for release within weeks of SIEGE OF STARS. Praise for THE SIGIL TRILOGY: "Great stuff. Touches of Douglas Adams, Barrington Bayley, David Britton and Steve Ayelet only emphasise the splendid originality of this book. Henry Gee is thoughtful, funny, original. And pretty thoroughly mind-expanding in the tradition of Wells, David Lindsay, Stapledon and Clarke. In fact everything you yearn to find in a very good contemporary SF novel. Really enjoyed it!" - SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock "Siege is compelling, grandiose, and breathtaking in its spacetime and its characters are intriguing, personal, and complex....This book of Henry's is going to be high on the charts." - Greg Laden, scienceblogs.com "One of the very best books I've ever read." - Critique.org "Henry Gee serves up a tasty stew of sex, science and space opera. Or should that read romance, rationality and retro-SF? Either way, the book is great entertainment." - Vaughan Stanger, author of Alternate Apollos and The English Dead "A great very-wide-screen story, with many interesting characters I cared about...the writing - and the palaeontology - are beautifully executed" - Jack Cohen, author of Wheelers and Heaven "Henry Gee paints a stunning, thriving universe in which readers will delight." - Shelly Li "The Sigil Trilogy is magnificently panoramic in breadth - a quirky, erudite and often hilarious tale of adventure mingling epic science fiction, archaeology, palaeontology and romance. Vividly entertaining!" - Cecilia Dart-Thornton, bestselling author of the Bitterbynde series "I got so engrossed in it that I could not put it down. Siege of Stars is a very good Sci-Fi novel, in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Ray Bradbury. It spans space and time on a grand scale, but at the same time delves into the questions of what it means to be human. I recommend this book." - Lee Gimenez, bestselling author of The Nanotech Murders Dr. Henry Gee is senior editor at the renowned science journal Nature and editor of the award-winning Nature Futures science fiction short story series. He has written over a dozen books, including The Science of Middle Earth and A Field Guide to Dinosaurs.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Great stuff...thoughtful, funny, original...everything you yearn to find in a very good contemporary SF novel...Really enjoyed it!." - Michael Moorcock


Similar books by other authors

thumb
For Steam and Country
(Adventures of Baron von Monocle, book 1)
Jon Del Arroz
thumb
Earth Unknown
(Forgotten Earth, book 1)
M R Forbes

Used availability for Henry Gee's Siege Of Stars

Paperback Editions

August 2012 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Siege Of Stars: Book One of The Sigil Trilogy
Author(s): Henry Gee
ISBN: 0-615-69161-7 / 978-0-615-69161-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: ReAnimus Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2012 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Siege of Stars: Book One of The Sigil Trilogy
Author(s): Henry Gee
Publisher: ReAnimus Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU