book cover of The Child of Auschwitz
Added by 15 of our members

The Child of Auschwitz

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
"She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth."

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand....

As the days pass, the two women learn each other's hopes and dreams - Eva's is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie's is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy....

But when Eva realises she is pregnant, she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other's children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Star and the Shamrock
(Star and the Shamrock, book 1)
Jean Grainger
thumb
Of Windmills & War
(War Trilogy, book 1)
Diane Moody

Used availability for Lily Graham's The Child of Auschwitz

Paperback Editions

April 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
ISBN: 0-7515-7981-5 / 978-0-7515-7981-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
ISBN: 1-83888-069-0 / 978-1-83888-069-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Lily Graham
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU