book cover of Luck and Judgement
Added by 22 of our members

Luck and Judgement

(2015)
(The third book in the DC Smith Investigation series)
A novel by

 
 

Luck & Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation


When a worker goes missing from a North Sea gas platform, there seem to be just two possible explanations – it was a tragic accident or a suicide.

It does not take Smith and his detectives long, however, to discover that James Bell led a double life back onshore in Kings Lake, a life complicated enough to make him at least one dangerous enemy. Before the case can be unraveled, Smith must get a new team working together; Waters and Murray are still there but one of Wilson’s men is transferred to him, and the female detective constable from Longmarsh poses some unexpected problems for her new sergeant.

Together they begin to investigate the links between the companies and the people that bring ashore the oil and gas, and they also find themselves caught up in the seamier side of life that exists beneath Lake’s everyday comings and goings. Jo Evison begins to delve more deeply into the story of the Andretti murders, and Smith himself has to face the fact that he might no longer be considered fit for duty.

This, the third DC Smith investigation, follows on from 'But For The Grace'.

Perfect for fans of Colin Dexter, Ruth Rendell, P D James, R D Wingfield or even John le Carre.

DC Smith Investigation Series;

  • Book 1: An Accidental Death: A DC Smith Investigation

  • Book 2: But for the Grace: A DC Smith Investigation

  • Book 3: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation

  • Book 4: Persons of Interest: A DC Smith Investigation

  • Book 5: In This Bright Future: A DC Smith Investigation

  • Book 6: The Rags of Time: A DC Smith Investigation


What readers are saying -


"As a dedicated fan of Peter Grainger's work, I was delighted to find a third installment with this British detective 'that looked most like an indifferently successful vacuum cleaner salesman' according to one potential suspect. DC Smith is a warm, funny, intuitive detective who is relentless when chasing the truth and fearless in executing his duty."

"This is a wonderful series - a police procedural with finely drawn and realistic characters. A real treat to read all of them."

"My new favorite mystery author! Great character development, sharp wit and a good storyline."

"Very interesting character development -- I like Smith and want to learn more about him. Plotting is strong and enjoys the British humor. Highly recommend for those who enjoy Ian Rankin, etc."

"This is another welcome contribution to the DC Smith Detective Series. Once again Peter Grainger has given us a well-conceived plot and a cast of complex characters. Those of us who are in the older generation can fully appreciate DC's occasional frustration with modern detective techniques, but even they are not sufficient without his intelligence and experience."

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Song For The Dark Times
(Inspector Rebus, book 23)
Ian Rankin
thumb
The Anagramist
(Feyer and Drake Mystery, book 1)
David W Robinson
thumb
Avenge the Dead
(DI Frank Farrell, book 3)
Jackie Baldwin

Used availability for Peter Grainger's Luck and Judgement

Audio Editions

November 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement (DC Smith Investigation)
Author(s): Peter Grainger
ISBN: 1-5159-1086-5 / 978-1-5159-1086-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement (DC Smith Investigation)
Author(s): Peter Grainger
ISBN: 1-5159-6086-2 / 978-1-5159-6086-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation Series, Book 3
Author(s): Peter Grainger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation Series, Book 3
Author(s): Peter Grainger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation Series, Book 3
Author(s): Peter Grainger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation Series, Book 3
Author(s): Peter Grainger
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Luck and Judgement: A DC Smith Investigation
Author(s): Peter Grainger
Publisher: Covey Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU