book cover of The Boy At the Keyhole
Added by 1 of our members

The Boy At the Keyhole

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel." - Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele

For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family's English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother


Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family's housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband's faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel's life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered - by Ruth.

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn’t put it down, and it’s entirely possible that I’ll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel." - Lyndsay Faye

"At the heart of this gripping, perfectly paced story is a lonely nine-year-old boy consigned to the often brutal control of his absent mother's housekeeper. A relentless, claustrophobic tale about the constancy and opacity of love, where the truth must be terrible in order to be believed." - Charles Lambert

"Equal parts pastoral and piqued, The Boy at the Keyhole is a story that rises above its own devices and transcends the sum of its parts. The characters sink through the cracks of your mind, straight to your soul. And the questions herein will burn you to bits. You’ll talk about this book with everyone you meet. It’s that exciting." - Josh Malerman

"A fun and wicked read that is impossible to put down!." - Matthew Sullivan


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Stephen Giles's The Boy At the Keyhole

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-64358-017-5 / 978-1-64358-017-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sterling Mystery Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Hardback
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole: A Novel
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-335-65292-2 / 978-1-335-65292-8
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2019 : Paperback

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole: A Novel
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-335-00551-X / 978-1-335-00551-9
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole: A Novel
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-335-00546-3 / 978-1-335-00546-5
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
Publisher: Penguin Random House Australia Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-982543-21-3 / 978-1-982543-21-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-982543-22-1 / 978-1-982543-22-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
ISBN: 1-982543-23-X / 978-1-982543-23-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harlequin Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole
Author(s): Stephen Giles
Publisher: Penguin eBooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Boy at the Keyhole: A Novel
Author(s): Stephen Giles
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Availability: Amazon CA