book cover of The Scarecrow
Added by 11 members

The Scarecrow

(Book 18 in the DS Jason Smith Thriller series)
A novel by

THE SCARECROW (Detective Jason Smith book 18)
From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series
The Scarecrow (Detective Jason Smith #18) by Stewart Giles

How do you stop a psychopathic killer when they're always one step ahead of you?

A new kind of murderer has caught the attention of the people of York. His attention is focused on the low-lifes and the bottom-feeders of society.

He calls himself The Scarecrow.

The citizens of York are calling him a hero - a killer ridding society of the undesirables, but Detective Jason Smith can't accept this.

And when he finds himself first on the scene of this maniac's first horrific murder, and sees for himself what this self-proclaimed deterrent to crime is capable of, he takes it upon himself to stop The Scarecrow at any cost.

But as the brutal murders continue, Smith finds himself wondering if this is a fight he can actually win.

The Scarecrow refuses to be stopped.

Is this the first killer Smith is unable to beat?
What readers are saying about The Scarecrow
Classic Stewart Giles, an engrossing fast paced murder mystery. This is no ordinary killer. We have a dead man dressed as a scarecrow and a fake police officer! The interesting saga/drama of Smith's personal life continues. I enjoyed the vivid descriptions of the crime scenes. Read it in one sitting and loved it!. – Carol
Every riveting chapter keeps you on the edge of your seat. Intense turmoil develops as surprising information comes to light leading to a shocking conclusion. THE SCARECROW IS A MUST READ!.Eileen
It is a very easy to read book with a few red herrings and I really enjoyed it. The characters are easy to like too and it is great to have a bit of the family life of Jason and Erica as well. Would recommend it. - Maureen


Book 0.5 - Phobia
Book 1 - Smith
Book 2 - Boomerang
Book 3 - Ladybird
Book 4 - Occam’s Razor
Book 5 - Harlequin
Book 6 - Selene
Book 7 - Horsemen
Book 8 - Unworthy
Book 9 – Venom
Book 10 – Severed
Book 11 – Demons
Book 12 - Deadeye
Book 13 - Motive
Book 14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
Book 17 – Ghosts
Book 18 – The Scarecrow
Book 19 - The Bluesman
Book 20 - The Librarian
Book 21 - The Viaduct

Book 1 - Blood on the Island
Book 2 - Lies on the Island
Book 3 - Fear on the Island
Book 4 - Malice on the Island
Book 5 – Revenge on the Island
Book 6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 7 – Silence on the Island
Book 8 – Secrets on the Island
Book 9 - Chaos on the Island

Book 1-The Beekeeper
Book 2-The Perfect Murder
Book 3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3

Book 1 - The Enigma
Book 2 – Dropzone
Book 3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set

THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)

Horror - The Divide
Thriller - The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Stewart Giles's The Scarecrow

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors