book cover of The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon
Added by 38 of our members
 

The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
Wow what a book. I am still sitting thinking about this book even though I finished it a few days ago. I cannot write a review to do this book justice. I was hooked from the first page.’Avid Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Florence, 1943. A beautiful war-scarred city. A missing painting. A brave young girl on a black bicycle risking her life for the country she loved…

As the bells toll and arrogant soldiers torment her family, fourteen-year-old Gabriella is determined to act. She seeks out her old friend Stefanina, an unlikely member of the Italian resistance with her dark curls and scarlet ribbon. Soon the two girls are criss-crossing the river with deadly information in their bicycle baskets. But then one terrible day Stefanina disappears…

London 2019.Sofia is mourning the loss of her father, a famous painter. Desperate to feel closer to him, she begins to go through his paintings of wartime Florence, a time in his life he would never talk about. But then she realises one is missing… Hoping that it holds the answers she is looking for she travels to Florence to try and find it.

Her search takes her to her aunt Gabriella, an elegant old woman living in a palazzo filled with roses. Gabriella starts to share her memories of the war and of Stefanina, the girl with a scarlet ribbon in her hair who captured Sofia’s father’s heart. But will finding the missing painting and learning what happened to the girl her father couldn’t forget bring Sofia peace or further heartbreak?

A completely compelling and heartbreaking story of a beautiful city, a violent war and a young woman’s daring. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and My Name is Eva will be captivated by The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon. What everyone is saying about The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon:

‘This is such a beautiful book and told with such feeling, I can't praise it enough.’ Redheaded Book Lady, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Historicalfictionat the top of its gameThe pages turn quickly from the first to the last page. I could not put this book down as I cried for Gabrielle and cheered for her and held my breath every step of the way. Suzanne Goldring writes mesmerizing stories that have you feeling like you are right there in the midst of it all… a captivating read that taught me so much.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This was a beautiful read that was well written… It was an emotive and gripping read, I really enjoyed it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The story is beautifully written and is an emotional tale of the effects of the war as viewed from an Italian point of view which at times had me in tears and trying to read through them to see where the story was going. Suzanne Goldring did an exceptional job wrapping up the two timelines and pulling everything together.’ Beaches and Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A compelling, powerful andheart-breaking World War II novel… I highly recommend this novel but you may need to take breaks while reading it and keep a box of tissues close by! 5 Stars… This was my first Suzanne Goldring reading but I just bought one of her earlier books and know I will love it, too. She knows how to jar the soul.’ Cindy L. Spear, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Suzanne Goldring's The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon

Paperback Editions

February 2022 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon: An emotional and gripping World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
ISBN: 1-80314-011-9 / 978-1-80314-011-7
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon: An emotional and gripping World War 2 historical novel
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU