book cover of The Girl Without a Name
Added by 36 of our members

The Girl Without a Name

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A secret wartime love affair. A girl nobody can find. Is it ever too late to say you’re sorry?

September 1940. As the bombs of the Blitz fall on London, Ruby and Stevie are falling in love. United by a shocking experience when they were evacuees, Ruby believes that she understands Stevie like nobody else can. But then Stevie is sent abroad into danger and as Ruby waits, desperately, for letters with foreign stamps that never come, she begins to fear that he is lost forever. And when Stevie does return, he has changed, and Ruby faces a difficult choice…

August 2004. Billie has rushed to her father Dick’s hospital bedside. A terrible stroke has robbed him of his speech, and he is a shell of the man he was before. But when Billie finds a crumpled black and white photo in his wallet of a smiling, dark-haired girl she doesn’t recognise, Dick frantically tries to talk. Billie knows that he is trying to tell her something important, and she must ask the questions her father cannot. All she has to go on is the name he is just able to mumble. Ruby.

As Billie uncovers Ruby’s tragic story she is determined to find out what happened to the girl who went away for a weekend with the man she loved and never came home. Why did nobody miss her? And how is she connected to Billie’s beloved father? Can Billie lay the ghosts of the past to rest, even if it means revealing the darkest secrets of her father’s life and breaking her own heart?

A completely compelling and heartbreaking read, this is the story of the bravery and courage of a young woman in wartime and another woman’s quest to put things right. Fans of The Letter and The Nightingale will be hooked on The Girl Without a Name.

Readers are loving The Girl Without a Name:

A captivating and emotional wartime saga, a tale of love, loss, and courage. I couldn't put the book down. It is exciting and tragic at the same time. I absolutely loved this book! I laughed, I cried, I cheered.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What an amazing tale, I've been totally captivated the whole way throughIt’s heart wrenching at times,I totally loved every page and what an amazing ending. I can totally recommend this OUTSTANDING book for all.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I can't get over how good this book was.The Girl Without a Namefilled me with so many emotionsA page-turner for sure as you are transported back and forth between past and present… Goldring's in-depth research, character development, and plot execution has made me a big fan. An excellent read. Five amazing stars. I loved it!Cyireadbooks, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A heartbreaking story of a young girl finding herself. Discovering her strengths and her potential. It is also a story of human frailties and that it's never too late to be sorry. Great story!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A fabulous wartime story that will really pull at your heart strings. I totally loved this book and the story was just brilliant.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Suzanne Goldring's The Girl Without a Name

Paperback Editions

October 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
ISBN: 1-83888-841-1 / 978-1-83888-841-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


November 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Suzanne Goldring
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU