book cover of Thieves of Weirdwood

Thieves of Weirdwood

(2020)
(The first book in the William Shivering series)
A novel by

 
 
Thieves of Weirdwood is the first in William Shivering and Newbery Honor winner Christian McKay Heidicker's brand-new fantasy series—illustrated by Anna Earleyabout two kid thieves who are plunged into a battle between the Real and Imaginary worlds! Action, laughs, and monsters beyond imagining abound!

"[W]ill delight and satiate those besotted with Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Artemis Fowl, Miss Peregrine, the Spiderwicks." —New York Times Book Review


Twelve-year-old thieves Arthur and Wally are determined to steal their way up the ranks of the notorious Black Feathers gang. With loan sharks chasing after Arthur’s father and Wally’s brother’s hospital bill due, they’re in need of serious cash. Fast.

When Arthur spots some wealthy strangers exiting a seemingly deserted mansion, he smells an opportunity for a big score. Little do the boys realize, they’ve stumbled upon Weirdwood Manor, the headquarters of a magical order who protect the Balance between the Real and Imaginary worlds. When Kingsport is besieged by nightmarish creatures, it’s up to a pair of thieves to save their city.

Filled with giant tentacle monsters and heroes literally ripped from the pages of adventure stories, this imagination-bending series is perfect for fans of Keeper of the Lost Cities, Aru Shah, and Nevermoor.

"Startling, original and epic." —Eoin Colfer, creator of Artemis Fowl

"An imaginative, page-turning adventure." —Shannon Messenger, New York Times bestselling author of Keeper of the Lost Cities

Genre: Children's Fiction

Praise for this book

"A mysterious magical enchanting tale brimming with creative spirit." - J C Cervantes

"With dazzling wit and enough spooky adventure for this and any alternate universe, Thieves of Weirdwood thrills to the last page. Startling, original and epic." - Eoin Colfer

"An imaginative, page-turning adventure filled with chilling creatures and lovable characters that kept me guessing through every twist and turn." - Shannon Messenger


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Christian McKay Heidicker's Thieves of Weirdwood

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale (Thieves of Weirdwood, 1)
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering
ISBN: 1-250-30288-9 / 978-1-250-30288-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood (Thieves of Weirdwood, 1)
Author(s): Christian Mcka Heidicker
ISBN: 1-250-76300-2 / 978-1-250-76300-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Square Fish
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale (Thieves of Weirdwood, 1)
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering
ISBN: 1-250-24818-3 / 978-1-250-24818-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering, Eric Deschamps - cover illustration
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering, Eric Deschamps - cover illustration
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering, Eric Deschamps - cover illustration
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering, Eric Deschamps - cover illustration
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Thieves of Weirdwood: A William Shivering Tale
Author(s): Christian McKay Heidicker, William Shivering
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU