book cover of Death and the Butterfly
Added by 2 of our members

Death and the Butterfly

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Michael Ondaatje and Chris Cleave, this sweeping multigenerational novel centered around endless heartbreak and enduring love features the intertwined stories of three women who transcend three tragedies of the twentieth century with the aid of the greatest love poet of all time: Pablo Neruda.

London, England, September 1940. Thirteen-year-old Susan McEwan and her older brother, Phillip, a pilot, witness firsthand the initial Nazi bombing of civilian London. Weeks later, Phillip’s Sunderland bomber is shot down, and his family is wordlessly devastated.

Toronto, Canada, the early 1980s. As a young couple struggles to survive the Reagan recession, the husband, Alexander Polo, is forced to take a job as a paperboy. When the wife, Julie, discovers she is pregnant, Polo must now confront his future head-on with his heart open.

>Montana, the first days of September 2001. His wedding day overshadowed by the tragedy of 9/11, Jack Riordan discovers a magazine story written by Polo about Susan and airplanes and her love of the poems of Pablo Neruda.

With humor and insight, Colin Hester explores how Susan, Polo, and Jack carry on—grieving the death of a child or the end of a marriage—in deeply felt and beautifully imagined prose.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Death and the Butterfly is a marvel, a magic trick, both a ballet on the tightwire of human strength and frailty and a fall into the darkest and deepest well. Colin Hester’s achingly poignant sentences - this is an artist at the top of his power - balanced me breathlessly and held my hand as I fell. What his characters find in these most dark and private places - what we find - is one another. This is a story about Nazi bombs and grief-dumb road trips, of dying lovers and children. About senselessness, and sense. A story of how, paradoxically, our own most private grief is what connects us to everyone. It’s a novel about poetry, too, and how common beauty and loss just might help us love, and love the world, again." - David Allan Cates


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Colin Hester's Death and the Butterfly

Hardback Editions

July 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
ISBN: 1-64009-325-7 / 978-1-64009-325-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
Publisher: Scribd Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Death and the Butterfly: A Novel
Author(s): Colin Hester
Publisher: Counterpoint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU