book cover of The How and the Why

The How and the Why

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
"Cynthia Hand is the master of pulling at your heartstrings. The How & the Why tells both sides of an adoption story with love, compassion, and care." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of Letters to the LostA poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs - but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Serpent & Dove
(Serpent & Dove Duology, book 1)
Shelby Mahurin
thumb
The Queen of Nothing
(Folk of the Air, book 3)
Holly Black

Hardback Editions

November 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The How & the Why
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
ISBN: 0-06-269316-6 / 978-0-06-269316-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The How & the Why
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
ISBN: 1-09-402623-9 / 978-1-09-402623-7
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The How & the Why: Library Edition
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
ISBN: 1-09-402622-0 / 978-1-09-402622-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The How & the Why
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
ISBN: 1-09-402624-7 / 978-1-09-402624-4
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The How & the Why
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The How & the Why
Author(s): Cynthia Hand
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA