book cover of Birds of Prey
Added by 10 members
 

Birds of Prey

(2024)
(The third book in the Borderlands series)
A novel by

 
 

‘The Britons are like the red kite and hunt what they can… but we are the Empire’s eagles that take what we want.’

It has been twelve years since Faustus Valerianus first arrived in Britain, a centurion in the conquering Roman army. Many battles have been won, many allegiances gained. But those victories hide a more complex truth.

In West Britain, the powerful Silures led by King Loarn plot their rebellion, fighting back against the now diminished strength of their Roman occupiers. Faustus, whose mother was born to this tribe, finds himself trapped between loyalty to the army and compassion for his mother’s people.

With a fragile peace on a knife edge, the smallest spark could incite chaos. And a sudden, terrible tragedy that rocks Faustus and his family, fracturing the relationship between him and his sister Silvia, promises to be that very moment.

With a great, final conflict on the horizon, and with Silvia potentially the key to it all, Faustus must not only come to terms with the realities of his position, as soldier and head of the family, but lay the demons that haunt him to rest if he is to ever achieve his own peace.

But what peace is even possible, for a bird of prey?

A beautifully presented Ancient Roman epic of familial strife, ruthless battles and fierce love, perfect for fans of Manda Scott, Rosemary Sutcliff and Bernard Cornwell.

Genre: Historical

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Damion Hunter's Birds of Prey


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors