book cover of Island of Fear
Added by 1 of our members

Island of Fear

(2019)
(The third book in the Alex Swan Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
It's the summer of 1974, and the beautiful island of Cyprus is under threat of an invasion.

But for some, this tragedy offers an opportunity to settle some very personal scores, and gain some very specific political advantages...

In London, former MI5 officer Alex Swan and his colleague, ex-policeman Arthur Gable, are investigating the murder of an RAF officer. When a connection is made between the London murder and a terrorist group that is active on the island, Swan and Gable find themselves inexorably drawn into the conflict in the Med.

Elsewhere, other interested parties are wading into the situation, all keen to make their mark and take their share of the spoils. Add to this, an Irish-American former submariner desperate to avenge the death of his brother at British hands, a nomadic mercenary unit led by an ex-SAS sergeant and a highly sensitive document hidden aboard an old warplane, then the scene is set for an edge-of-your-seat thriller that crosses continents, experiences and perspectives.

Will Swan and Gable be able to prevent the conflict on Cyprus erupting into all-out war, threatening NATO's southern flank?

Island of Fear is a carefully-researched tale that blends crime fiction with the facts of twentieth-century history. Ideal for fans of Len Deighton and other Cold War thriller writers.

David Holman lives in Kent with his wife and three daughters. A former lecturer in English, he writes for several publications. This is his third book.

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Saving Hitler
(Maddox, book 3)
Jack Hayes
thumb
Wild Ocean
(Tyson Wild Thriller, book 1)
Tripp Ellis
thumb
Kill Hitler
(Deathshop, book 1)
Jon Barton

Used availability for David Holman's Island of Fear

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Island of Fear: An Alex Swan Mystery (Book 3) (Alex Swan Mysteries)
Author(s): David Holman
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Island of Fear
Author(s): David Holman
ISBN: 1-79826-571-0 / 978-1-79826-571-0
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Island of Fear (An Alex Swan Mystery Book 3)
Author(s): David Holman
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU