book cover of Sins of the Father
Added by 12 of our members

Sins of the Father

(2014)
(The third book in the Jimmy Suttle series)
A novel by

 
 
'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

A family all with motives for murder. A detective haunted by his past.

A rich old man, Rupert Moncrieff, is beaten to death in the silence of his West Country waterside mansion, his head hooded and his throat cut. His extended family are still living beneath his roof, each with their own room, their own story, their own ghosts, and their own motives for murder. And in this world of darkness and dysfunction are the artefacts and memories of colonial atrocities that are returning to haunt them all.

At the heart of the murder investigation is DS Jimmy Suttle who, along with his estranged journalist wife Lizzie, is fighting his own demons after the abduction and death of their young daughter, Grace.

But who killed Rupert Moncrieff? And what secrets is the house holding onto that could unravel this whole investigation?

The enquiry takes Suttle to Africa and beyond as he slowly begins to understand the damage that human beings can inflict upon one another. Not simply on the battlefield. Not simply in the torture camps in the Kenyan bush. But much, much closer to home.

Why readers love Graham Hurley:

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph

'Well-written and plotted, utterly convincing and really exciting... Excellent' Daily Mail

'One of the great talents of British police procedurals... every book he delivers is better than the last' Independent on Sunday

Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Peter Robinson will love Graham Hurley:

Faraday and Winter
1. Turnstone
2. The Take
3. Angels Passing
4. Deadlight
5. Cut to Black
6. Blood and Honey
7. One Under
8. The Price of Darkness
9. No Lovelier Death
10. Beyond Reach
11. Borrowed Light
12. Happy Days

Jimmy Suttle
1. Western Approaches
2. Touching Distance
3. Sins of the Father
4. The Order of Things

* Each Graham Hurley novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The House at Sea's End
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 3)
Elly Griffiths
thumb
Dead Man's Time
(Roy Grace, book 9)
Peter James
thumb
Fall Down Dead
(Cooper & Fry, book 18)
Stephen Booth

Used availability for Graham Hurley's Sins of the Father

Hardback Editions

January 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father (Jimmy Suttle 3)
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4091-5337-1 / 978-1-4091-5337-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father (Jimmy Suttle 3)
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4091-5339-8 / 978-1-4091-5339-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2015 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(The Sins of the Father)] [By (author) Graham Hurley] published on (November, 2015)
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Imprint Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2014 : UK Paperback

Title: Sins of the Father
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4091-5338-X / 978-1-4091-5338-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2015 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Sins Of The Father
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4450-4880-9 / 978-1-4450-4880-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2015 : UK MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Sins Of The Father
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4450-4881-7 / 978-1-4450-4881-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2015 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Sins Of The Father
Author(s): Graham Hurley
ISBN: 1-4450-4879-5 / 978-1-4450-4879-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father: A DS Jimmy Suttle Novel
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon   


November 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father: A DS Jimmy Suttle Novel
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father: A DS Jimmy Suttle Novel
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father: A DS Jimmy Suttle Novel
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2014 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sins of the Father (Jimmy Suttle 3)
Author(s): Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU