book cover of On This Unworthy Scaffold

On This Unworthy Scaffold

(2021)
(A book in the Shadow Players series)
A novel by

 
 
Jetta is in the center of a war. With her magical power, she could save everyone, save her country . . . or she could destroy it all.

Heidi Heilig blends traditional storytelling with ephemera for a lush, page-turning commercial fantasy for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Leigh Bardugo.

The final book in the acclaimed Shadow Players trilogy.

Jetta’s home is spiraling into civil war. Le Trépas—the deadly necromancer—has used his blood magic to wrest control of the country, and Jetta has been without treatment for her malheur for weeks. Meanwhile, Jetta’s love interest, brother, and friend are intent on infiltrating the palace to stop the Boy King and find Le Trépas to put an end to the unleashed chaos.

The sweeping conclusion to Heidi Heilig’s ambitious trilogy takes us to new continents, introduces us to new gods, flings us into the middle of palace riots and political intrigue, and asks searching questions about power and corruption.

Acclaimed author Heidi Heilig creates a rich world inspired by Southeast Asian cultures and French colonialism. Told from Jetta’s first-person point-of-view, as well as with chapters written as play scripts and ephemera such as songs, myths, and various forms of communication, On This Unworthy Scaffold is a satisfying finale to the epic fantasy trilogy. It will thrill readers who love Claire Legrand’s Furyborn, Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, and N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Hardback Editions

March 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: On This Unworthy Scaffold
Author(s): Heidi Heilig
ISBN: 0-06-265200-1 / 978-0-06-265200-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio edition

Title: On This Unworthy Scaffold
Author(s): Heidi Heilig
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: On This Unworthy Scaffold
Author(s): Heidi Heilig
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA