book cover of Nightfall
Added by 1 of our members

Nightfall

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every 24 hours - it comes every 28 years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling - bizarre, even - but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing - the twins' friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line's gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jake Halpern's Nightfall

Hardback Editions

September 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
ISBN: 0-399-17580-6 / 978-0-399-17580-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern
ISBN: 0-14-751740-0 / 978-0-14-751740-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
ISBN: 1-4714-0573-7 / 978-1-4714-0573-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
ISBN: 1-101-92593-0 / 978-1-101-92593-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


September 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

October 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Nightfall
Author(s): Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA