book cover of The Local
Added by 23 members
 

The Local

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
‘[A] terrific legal thriller... The plot is gripping, and Hartstone, a veteran screenwriter, sketches his characters with real verve and affection. New York Times

A suspenseful legal drama packed with Southern atmosphere for fans of The Good Wife and Michael Connelly

‘Compelling and fast moving’ LISA BALLANTYNE

‘Razor sharp, reminiscent of the best Grisham’ KIA ABDULLAH

______

BIG BUSINESS

James Euchre lives an easy life as a local attorney in a small Texan town, making plenty of money from patent infringement cases.

BAD BLOOD

But when his mentor is killed, and one of his clients is arrested for murder, James is forced to take on his first criminal case - defending the man who allegedly killed his friend.

BETRAYAL

The deeper James goes into the case, the more he fears that he'll fail to save an innocent client's life - or worse, wind up freeing a guilty man...

______

PRAISE FOR THE LOCAL

Everything I love in a book. It’s a thriller, a whodunnit, and a sexy courtroom drama. It’s a real page turner’ Woody Harrelson

"A spectacular courtroom drama that kept me turning the pages like the best of Grisham or Turow" Michelle King, co-creator of The Good Wife and The Good Fight

"[An] unforgettable powerhouse debut" P. J. Vernon, author of Bath Haus

“A courtroom thriller with a dazzling cinematic quality… readers will want more of Hartstone's razor's-edge style. A natural for fans of Grisham and TurowBooklist

“A sizzling, fast-paced read that drew me in and kept me turning pages right to the end. Joey Hartstone paints a vivid picture of a small-town Texas court where old feuds and allegiances mean anything can happen” William Landt, author of the New York Times bestselling Defending Jacob

Scott Turow readers should take a look” Publishers Weekly

READERS LOVE THE LOCAL:

'Oh boy! This was wild ride.'

'Oh. My. Word... holy moly, I'm mind blown... I actually have a headache from all the tension now. My heart is racing.'

’Well written, punchy with great plotting and characterisation.'

'Thrills and twists abound.'



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Joey Hartstone is a consummate storyteller. In The Local, he crafts a razor-sharp thriller reminiscent of the best of Grisham. Filled with simmering tensions, abiding rivalries and the heady atmosphere of small-town Southern America, it's slick, smart and - to my delight - undeniably sexy." - Kia Abdullah

"A compelling and fast-moving novel dealing with the conflict between friendship, family loyalty and duty to the law. Hartstone kept me guessing right till the end." - Lisa Ballantyne

"Unraveling a fraught legal system page-by-gripping-page, The Local is an extraordinary and unforgettable powerhouse of a debut. Hartstone's masterful storytelling and switchblade-sharp wit make for a piercing and wildly entertaining thriller about the fragility of power - and the feverish and cruel desperation of those who wield it. An absolute must-read." - P J Vernon


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Joey Hartstone's The Local


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors