book cover of The Book of Polly
Added by 7 of our members

The Book of Polly

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
For readers of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, Joshilyn Jackson, and Fannie Flagg, with a touch of Terms of Endearment

A laugh-out-loud funny yet poignant novel about a daughter determined not only to keep her mother among the living but to find out the secrets of her long-buried past

Willow Havens is ten years old and obsessed with the fear that her mother will die.  Her mother, Polly,  is a cantankerous, take-no-prisoners Southern woman who lives to shoot varmints, drink margaritas, and antagonize the neighbors--and she sticks out like a sore thumb among the young, modern mothers of their small conventional Texas town. She was in her late fifties when Willow was born, so Willow knows she's here by accident, a late-life afterthought. Willow's father died before she was born, her much older brother and sister are long grown and gone and failing elsewhere: it's just her and her bigger-than-life mom, Polly. 

Willow is desperately hungry for clues to the family life that preceded her, and Polly has her own secrets that she won't reveal.  Why did she leave her hometown of Bethel, Louisiana, fifty years ago and vow never to return after a mysterious and terrible incident?  Who is Garland Jones, her long-ago suitor who possibly killed a man?  And will Polly be able to outrun The Bear, the illness that finally puts her on a collision course with her closely guarded past and a final trip back to Bethel that will end with them, like Huck Finn, riding a river raft back home?

THE BOOK OF POLLY has a kick like the best hot sauce, and a great blend of humor and sadness, pathos and hilarity. This is a bittersweet novel about the grip of love in a truly quirky family and you'll come to know one of the most unforgettable mother-daughter duos you've ever met.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"The liveliest, loveliest literary mother-daughter combo since Terms of Endearment. . ." - Mary Kay Andrews

"This book is delicious as much fun as Where'd You Go, Bernadette? and purely Southern-fried, to boot." - Mark Childress

"I am wildly in love with The Book of Polly." - Joshilyn Jackson


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Schoolhouse
(Hickory Grove, book 1)
Elizabeth Bromke

Used availability for Kathy Hepinstall's The Book of Polly

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
ISBN: 0-399-56209-5 / 978-0-399-56209-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
ISBN: 1-4104-9776-3 / 978-1-4104-9776-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
ISBN: 0-399-56210-9 / 978-0-399-56210-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Book of Polly: A Novel
Author(s): Kathy Hepinstall
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU