Joshilyn Jackson's picture
Followed by 7 of our members

Joshilyn Jackson


USA flag

New York Times Bestselling novelist Joshilyn Jackson lives in Georgia with her husband, their two children, and way too many feckless animals. Her debut, gods in Alabama, won SIBA's 2005 Novel of the year Award and was a #1 BookSense pick. Jackson won Georgia Author of the Year for her second novel, Between, Georgia, which also a #1 BookSense pick, making Jackson the first author in BookSense history to receive #1 status in back to back years. Her third novel, The Girl Who Stopped Swimming, was a Break Out book at Target and has been shortlisted for the Townsend Prize for Fiction. All three books were chosen for the Books-A-Million Book Club.

Genres: Romance, Literary Fiction
 
Joshilyn Jackson recommends
thumb
Days of the Endless Corvette (2007)
Man Martin
"Man Martin's tall tale stretches truth until it squeaks and gives up moments of such perfect beauty that more than once I found myself grinning through my tears. It's smart and funny and quirky and deeply imagined, and at its heart is a gorgeous faith in the potency of human connections. Martin crafts a rich feast from love's leftovers and smallest pieces, delivering a wonderful book, wonderful in every sense of the word."
thumb
The Wait (2008)
Frank Turner Hollon
"Frank Turner Hollon writes the thinking man's page-turner. He should be at the top of every reader's list."
thumb
Saints in Limbo (2009)
River Jordan
"River Jordan writes so beautifully."
thumb
The Other Life (2011)
Ellen Meister
"A love story to the modern family, written with a deep and lovely understanding of mothers and daughters."
thumb
Don't Breathe a Word (2011)
Jennifer McMahon
"A haunting page-turner that kept me up, spine shivering and enthralled, way past my bedtime."
thumb
The Memory Garden (2014)
Mary Rickert
"An atmospheric, eerie, and utterly beautiful debut...Don't miss this one."
thumb
Small Blessings (2014)
Martha Woodroof
"Optimistic, wise, and beautifully written, this book about love in all its colors, hope, and the glory of third chances will stay with you long after you close the cover."
thumb
The Beautiful Daughters (2015)
Nicole Baart
"Nicole Baart is a huge talent."
thumb
The Book of Polly (2017)
Kathy Hepinstall
"I am wildly in love with The Book of Polly."
thumb
The Sisters Chase (2017)
Sarah Healy
"A beautifully written family drama with a mystery at its core, The Sisters Chase is a layered and lovely book about the bonds of love crashing up against the rocky shore of the world."
thumb
The Hidden Light of Northern Fires (2017)
Daren Wang
"I will carry this story of love and vengeance, ruin and restoration with me for a long, long time. Read it--you will want to pass it on."
thumb
When We Were Worthy (2017)
Marybeth Mayhew Whalen
"Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult - this is an author for your favorites shelf. Marybeth Mayhew Whalen’s taut, smart novel is a natural-born page-turner that doesn’t sacrifice depth of feeling or character. Whalen knows this town, these people, and she lays them open for us with razor-sharp insight, wit, and empathy. Don’t miss this one."
thumb
The Sisters of Glass Ferry (2017)
Kim Michele Richardson
"This heart-rending, lovely family drama spans sixty years and four generations, peeling back the layers of a small town to reveal a labyrinth of long-buried lies and a wealth of dangerous secrets suspended between three families. The Sisters of Glass Ferry is so fast paced I couldn’t stop turning the pages, but then I’d smash into another jewel-like sentence and have to stop to reread it. Kim Michele Richardson writes with an authentic Southern voice straight out of Kentucky, well graveled, rough with moonshine, and damn near irresistible."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors