book cover of Heretics Anonymous
Added by 2 of our members

Heretics Anonymous

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Put an atheist in a strict Catholic school? Expect comedy, chaos, and an Inquisition. The Breakfast Club meets Saved! in debut author Katie Henry's hilarious novel about a band of misfits who set out to challenge their school, one nun at a time. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Robyn Schneider.

When Michael walks through the doors of Catholic school, things can't get much worse. His dad has just made the family move again, and Michael needs a friend. When a girl challenges their teacher in class, Michael thinks he might have found one, and a fellow atheist at that. Only this girl, Lucy, isn't just Catholic... she wants to be a priest.

Lucy introduces Michael to other St. Clare's outcasts, and he officially joins Heretics Anonymous, where he can be an atheist, Lucy can be an outspoken feminist, Avi can be Jewish and gay, Max can wear whatever he wants, and Eden can practice paganism.

Michael encourages the Heretics to go from secret society to rebels intent on exposing the school's hypocrisies one stunt at a time. But when Michael takes one mission too far - putting the other Heretics at risk - he must decide whether to fight for his own freedom or rely on faith, whatever that means, in God, his friends, or himself.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Funny, touching, and wonderfully even-handed, Katie Henry’s debut novel is a weirdo’s guide to faith—in the best possible way." - Anna Breslaw

"Katie Henry deftly weaves a nuanced coming-of-age story with the hilarity of medieval church history, feminist theology, and the achingly real struggle of coming to terms with one’s faith. I loved this book like WHOA." - Joy McCullough

"Hilarious, irreverent, charming, and an absolute delight! This book is everything I hoped for and more." - Robyn Schneider


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Leah on the Offbeat
(Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, book 2)
Becky Albertalli

Used availability for Katie Henry's Heretics Anonymous

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
ISBN: 0-06-269887-7 / 978-0-06-269887-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
ISBN: 0-06-269888-5 / 978-0-06-269888-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
ISBN: 1-982553-02-2 / 978-1-982553-02-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
ISBN: 1-982553-01-4 / 978-1-982553-01-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
ISBN: 1-982553-03-0 / 978-1-982553-03-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Heretics Anonymous
Author(s): Katie Henry
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU