book cover of The Second Sleep
Added by 107 of our members

The Second Sleep

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
THE LATEST NOVEL FROM ROBERT HARRIS:chosen as a Book of the Year by The Times, Sunday Times, Guardian, Telegraph, Mail on Sunday, and Express

WHAT IF YOUR FUTURE LIES IN THE PAST?
_____________________________________
'One word: wonderful. Two words: compulsive reading. Three words: buy it tomorrow. Four words: tonight, if possible.' STEPHEN KING
'A thoroughly absorbing, page-turning narrative.' SUNDAY TIMES
'Genuinely thrilling.' DAILY TELEGRAPH
_____________________________________
Dusk is gathering
as a young priest, Christopher Fairfax, rides across a silent land.

It's a crime to be out after dark, and Fairfax knows he must arrive at his destination - a remote village in the wilds of Exmoor - before night falls and curfew is imposed.

He's lost and he's becoming anxious as he slowly picks his way across a countryside strewn with the ancient artefacts of a civilisation that seems to have ended in cataclysm.

What Fairfax cannot know is that, in the days and weeks to come, everything he believes in will be tested to destruction, as he uncovers a secret that is as dangerous as it is terrifying ...
_____________________________________
'[Harris] takes us on a thrilling ride while serving up serious food for thought.' SUNDAY EXPRESS

'A truly surprising future-history thriller. Fabulous, really.' EVENING STANDARD

'The book's real power lies in its between-the-lines warning that our embrace of the internet represents some kind of sleepwalk into oblivion. It's a provocative, tub-thumping sci-fi of which H. G. Wells might have been proud.' DAILY MAIL

'Harris' latest work intelligently warps historical fiction and tackles issues of religion, science and the apocalypse in the process. As he flexes his imagination, you will be left pondering as often as you are page-turning.' HERALD

'A brilliantly imaginative thriller' READER'S DIGEST

LOOK OUT FOR ROBERT'S NEW THRILLER, V2 - COMING AUTUMN 2020

#1 Bestseller in the UK, Sunday Times, September 2019

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"One word: wonderful. Two words: compulsive reading. Three words: buy it tomorrow. Four words: tonight, if possible." - Stephen King

"In the tradition of A Canticle for Leibowitz, Harris presents an extraordinary and terrifyingly plausible vision of a post-technological future, a novel that’s at once an adventure story and a meditation on truth and faith. You’ll never look at your iPhone in quite the same way again." - Emily St. John Mandel


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Black Cross
(World War II, book 2)
Greg Iles
thumb
Corpus
(Tom Wilde, book 1)
Rory Clements

Used availability for Robert Harris's The Second Sleep

Hardback Editions

November 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 0-525-65669-3 / 978-0-525-65669-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : UK Hardback

Title: Second Sleep SIGNED
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 1-78633-206-X / 978-1-78633-206-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: RANDOM HOUSE
Availability: Amazon   


September 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 1-78633-137-3 / 978-1-78633-137-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hutchinson
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 1-78746-096-7 / 978-1-78746-096-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 1-78746-097-5 / 978-1-78746-097-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Arrow
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 0-593-16812-7 / 978-0-593-16812-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 0-7352-7513-0 / 978-0-7352-7513-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 1-78633-138-1 / 978-1-78633-138-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hutchinson
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
ISBN: 0-593-15493-2 / 978-0-593-15493-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   


October 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2019 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Second Sleep: the Sunday Times #1 bestselling novel
Author(s): Robert Harris
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital
Availability: Amazon AU