book cover of A Home from Home
Added by 15 of our members
 

A Home from Home

(2018)
(A book in the Home from Home series)
A novel by

 
 
A heart-warming wartime story of love and friendship, from the author of the award-winning THE MOTHER'S DAY CLUB

Norfolk, 1944

Land Girls, Phylly and Gracie, have become the best of friends - but war work is never easy at Catchetts Farm . . .

Poor Gracie wakes each morning worrying about whether she'll ever get to see her airman husband again. And Phylly is trying - and failing - to encourage Jimmy, an evacuee from London, to open up about his heartbreaking past.

When they meet Edwin, a handsome airman from the American Airforce, it soon becomes clear that Jimmy isn't the only one playing his cards close to his chest. But what could Edwin wish to hide from the girls?

Being a Land Girl means back-breaking work in all weathers, and the girls are determined want to do their bit to support the war effort. As their hardship grows, will the friendship between Phylly and Gracie be strong enough to see them through?

A Home from Home is the perfect wartime family saga, filled with heart-warming friendships and a courageous make-do-and-mend attitude. Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.

Readers LOVE Rosie Hendry:

'I highly recommend this book and give it a well-deserved five stars'

'It's books like this that remind me why I love reading . . . I can't wait to read more from Rosie Hendry'

'Fabulous - can't wait to read the next book'

'Beautifully written . . . Thank you to Rosie Hendry for writing this five-star book'

'A fantastic book - highly recommended'




Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Rosie Hendry's A Home from Home

Paperback Editions

August 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Home from Home: the most heart-warming wartime story from the author of THE MOTHER'S DAY CLUB
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
ISBN: 1-4087-2656-4 / 978-1-4087-2656-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


August 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


August 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Home from Home: the most heart-warming wartime story from the author of THE MOTHER'S DAY CLUB
Author(s): Rosie Hendry
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU