book cover of The Tuscan Daughter
Added by 18 members
 

The Tuscan Daughter

(2024)
A novel by

 
 

‘If you're a fan of WWII historical fiction [and] a courageous woman not willing to settle … I would highly recommend The Tuscan Daughter' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A country at war. An impossible choice. A woman who will risk everything to be free.

Tuscany, 1942: having moved from England to the beautiful city of Lucca before the outbreak of war, Lizzie Thornton adores her job as tutor to eight-year-old Cristo – despite the fact that his father, Count Antonio de Falco, is a notable fascist and supporter of Mussolini.

Then war is declared, and Lizzie is suddenly regarded as an enemy in the country she loves so much. When new tutor Vincenzo Baldini arrives, Lizzie is exposed to a new secret world; Vincenzo is actually a member of the Italian resistance, running an anti-fascist propaganda magazine. Lizzie, desperate to be part of the fight, joins Vincenzo’s unit, and soon she is head over heels in love.

But when someone from her past reappears and threatens to overturn her new life, Lizzie must decide if she has the strength to fight for what, and who, she truly wants.

Based on true events, The Tuscan Daughter is a heartbreaking story of one woman’s resilience in the face of fascism, perfect for fans of Mandy Robotham and Kate Quinn.

Readers have been swept away by The Tuscan Daughter:

'Richly told … a must for all fans of WW2 fiction' MANDY ROBOTHAM

‘A really well researched novel with a dramatic ending' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'An absolute masterpiece' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A thrilling, chilling close-up of the battle to save Italy from within' SARAH STEELE

I loved this story, it is one of the few that I have read focusing on Italy … fascinating' ⭐⭐⭐⭐��

‘An amazing and sentimental look at one Englishwoman's war in Italy' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This novel has it all … romance, history, mystery, edge-of-your-seat action' ⭐⭐��⭐⭐

'I know you'll get drawn into this book like I did!' ��⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"I was swept away by this heart-rending, gripping page-turner set in beautiful Tuscany. A must-read for fans of World War Two fiction." - Annie Lyons

"The beauty of the Italian countryside is a stunning backdrop for an ugly war of betrayal, cruelty and love, richly told here by Tessa Harris. A must for all fans of WW2 fiction." - Mandy Robotham

"Packed with atmosphere, this wartime resistance drama is a thrilling, chilling close-up of the battle to save Italy from within." - Sarah Steele


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Tessa Harris's The Tuscan Daughter


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors