book cover of The Darkest Night
Added by 12 members
 

The Darkest Night

(2023)
A novel by

 
 


Some secrets last for generations . . .



A bewitching and haunting story of family secrets - and the lengths some will go to protect them.

A MISSING WOMAN

When Ailsa Reid becomes the subject of a trial by media after an incident at the school where she works, she escapes to the comfort of her grandparents' house in Fife. But she arrives to find her grandmother, Moira - recently diagnosed with dementia - has gone missing, and her grandfather, Rupert, gravely injured.

AN ABANDONED CHILD

Desperate to ensure Moira's safe return, Ailsa must rely on the help of her estranged mother, Rowan, who abandoned her at birth. Tensions simmer between the two women as they attempt to piece together the lead-up to Moira's disappearance.

A TERRIBLE CURSE

But to move forward and find Moira, both Ailsa and Rowan must look to their ancestors, and to a story about witches burned on the hill above the Reid house centuries ago. Can they break the bonds of history in time to save their family? Or will the Reid curse be their undoing?

Perfect for fans of C. J. Cooke and Rebecca Netley.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Victoria Hawthorne's The Darkest Night


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors