book cover of The Lying Down Room
Added by 2 of our members

The Lying Down Room

(2014)
(The first book in the Serge Morel series)
A novel by

 
 
At night Armand lay in bed with a sadness in his heart that ballooned until there was room for nothing else.

He thought with horror of the lying-down room . . .

Paris; in the stifling August heat, Commandant Serge Morel is called to a disturbing crime scene. An elderly woman has been murdered to the soundtrack of Faure's Requiem, her body then grotesquely displayed.

At first this strange case seems to offer few clues; and Morel has problems of his own. His father - always a great force in his life - is beginning to succumb to senility; and he is unsettled by the reappearance of the beautiful Mathilde, the woman he once loved. Only origami can help calm the detective and focus his thoughts on this troubling crime.

As the investigation progresses, the key suspects to emerge are a middle-aged man and a mute teenage boy who have been delivering religious pamphlets in the city's suburbs. But as more elderly ladies are targeted, Morel will find his enquiries leading him back into the past, from the French countryside to Soviet Russia - and to two young boys with the most terrible of stories to tell . . .

An evocative, gripping crime novel with an aching heart: The Lying-Down Room is the stunning first novel in Anna Jaquiery's Commandant Morel series; perfect for fans of Michael Dibdin and Donna Leon.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Hunting Game
(Detective Inspector Embla Nystrom, book 1)
Helene Tursten
thumb
The Night Ferry
(Konrad Simonsen, book 5)
Lotte and Soren Hammer

Used availability for Anna Jaquiery's The Lying Down Room

Hardback Editions

April 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lying Down Room (Commandant Serge Morel)
Author(s): Anna Jaquiery
ISBN: 1-4472-4441-9 / 978-1-4472-4441-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mantle
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2015 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(The Lying Down Room)] [By (author) Anna Jaquiery] published on (December, 2015)
Author(s): Anna Jaquiery
Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lying Down Room: 1 (Commandant Morel)
Author(s): Anna Jaquiery
ISBN: 1-4472-4443-5 / 978-1-4472-4443-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lying Down Room (Commandant Morel)
Author(s): Anna Jaquiery
ISBN: 1-4472-4444-3 / 978-1-4472-4444-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mantle
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU