book cover of From the Land of Shadows

From the Land of Shadows

(1982)
A non fiction book by

 
 
'These literary-critical essays are compact with wit and penetration but also have a kind of freshness about them, as if the author has never got over his first rapture of enjoyment at the sheer thisness of poetry and prose. James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Desmond MacCarthy, with a gusto worthy to succeed theirs and a philosophy well set out in his own introduction. "Literature", he writes, "says most things itself, when it is allowed to." Criticism like this expands that allowance and adds to its pleasure' John Bayley, Observer

'His outstanding talent is as a cicerone, guiding the ignorant traveller with patience, knowledge and wit round some favourite literary edifice and communicating his own admiration of it to the goggling and fascinated visitor . . . the lasting impression is of our critic's truly amazing breadth of reference' Times Literary Supplement

'Mr James is hungry for - and not unworthy of - engagement with important issues. A collection of dignity and coherence . . . tellingly timely' Sunday Times



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Clive James's From the Land of Shadows

Hardback Editions

April 1982 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: From the Land of Shadows
Author(s): Clive James
ISBN: 0-224-02021-8 / 978-0-224-02021-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

May 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: From the Land of Shadows
Author(s): Clive James
ISBN: 1-4472-7144-0 / 978-1-4472-7144-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 1983 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: From the Land of Shadows (Picador Books)
Author(s): Clive James
ISBN: 0-330-26994-1 / 978-0-330-26994-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2015 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: From the Land of Shadows
Author(s): Clive James
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA