book cover of Ghost in the Machine
Added by 17 of our members

Ghost in the Machine

(2012)
(The first book in the Cullen & Bain Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A missing mother. An ambitious cop. A serial killer who hides his tracks.

With a messy divorce behind her, Caroline Adamson’s future is finally looking up.

But after her mutilated body is found, police think Caroline’s ex-husband is the main suspect and Edinburgh faces up to the fact that it might have a serial killer in its midst. DC Scott Cullen of Lothian and Borders CID has only been in the job for three months but he’s determined to prove himself, and equally as determined that the right person faces justice, so he questions his superiors.

Could the answer lie with Schoolbook, the latest social media craze to hit the city? As things take an even darker, personal turn, Cullen realises that he must look closer to home for the answer – before it’s too late.

A gritty, gripping and wholly satisfying modern crime novel, Ghost in the Machine asks the questions we don’t like to ask ourselves. Are we ever safe online, and how do we know who to trust?

For fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart McBride and Christopher Brookmyre, Ghost in the Machine is the novel that introduced readers to ambitious maverick Detective Constable Scott Cullen, whose series has set the bestseller charts alight.

‘Classic Scottish noir: bad food, bad moods, too much booze and tight plots’ @ey0k1, Twitter
Reviews for Ghost in the Machine

‘Rebus has a young pretender to his throne … [An] excellent read’ Andy Caskey, Amazon five-star review

‘Scott Cullen is superb … Excellent plot, brilliant location, realistic characters and great dialogues. You'd be mad not to try it. If you’re into the crime genre, Ed James is a must-have for your collection’ Brian Smith, Amazon five-star review

‘Fresh and exciting … Scott Cullen brings a wonderful energy to the world of the police procedural … I’ll definitely be reading more in the series’ nigelpbird.blogspot.co.uk

‘Up there with the best … managed to keep me guessing right to the end … Here’s hoping DC Scott Cullen has a long career in law enforcement’ Phil Moore, Amazon five-star review

‘Scary and topical. I loved it’ Rroberta Stableford, Amazon five-star review

‘Rankin for the X-box generation’ Noj, Amazon five-star review


Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Find Them Dead
(Roy Grace, book 16)
Peter James
thumb
Random
(Narey and Winter, book 1)
Craig Robertson
thumb
The Shadows in the Street
(Simon Serrailler, book 5)
Susan Hill

Used availability for Ed James's Ghost in the Machine

Paperback Editions

April 2012 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine: Scott Cullen Book One
Author(s): Ed James
ISBN: 1-4791-2484-2 / 978-1-4791-2484-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2012 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine (Detective Scott Cullen Mysteries)
Author(s): Ed James
ISBN: 1-71770-577-4 / 978-1-71770-577-8
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   


April 2012 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine (Detective Scott Cullen Mysteries)
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine: DC Scott Cullen Crime Series, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Whole Story Quest
Availability: Amazon   


December 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine: DC Scott Cullen Crime Series, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Whole Story Quest
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine: DC Scott Cullen Crime Series, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Whole Story Quest
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine: DC Scott Cullen Crime Series, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Whole Story Quest
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2012 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Ghost in the Machine (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 1)
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU