book cover of Coming Home

Coming Home

(The first book in the Scottish series)
A novel by

August, 1945. Victory over Japan has been announced and everyone in Megan Oliphant’s home town in Scotland is celebrating the end of the war. The boys are 'Coming Home'.

Megan has been waiting desperately for the day when Steven Caraford, the best friend of her older brother, finally returns. After long correspondence during Steven's time away - and after supporting each other through her brother's death - Megan can only hope her feelings for him are mutual.

Steven has longed for the day when he can return home to Scotland, and – although it will mean long days, little money and no security – his heart’s desire is to have a farm of his own. While Megan heads off for college, Steven struggles to build up his new home - and both must try to work out what the other is feeling about their future together.

Coming Home is a moving romantic drama about building a new life after the Second World War - and about searching for love, stability and happiness.

Praise for Gwen Kirkwood:

'A gripping read' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of The Lunar Code

Gwen Kirkwood is the author of sixteen Scottish novels and six shorter romantic novellas, including A Question of Love. She won the Elizabeth Goudge Trophy, judged by Richard Lee, when it was re-introduced to mark the millennium in 2000. She lives in Scotland.

Genre: Historical Romance

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Gwen Kirkwood's Coming Home

Paperback Editions

April 2016 : USA Paperback

Title: Coming Home
Author(s): Gwen Kirkwood
ISBN: 1-5308-3523-2 / 978-1-5308-3523-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

May 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Coming Home (The Scottish Series Book 1)
Author(s): Gwen Kirkwood
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU