book cover of It Will Just Be Us
Added by 17 of our members

It Will Just Be Us

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A terrifying new gothic horror novel about two sisters and a haunted house that never sleeps, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

They say there's a door in Wakefield that never opens...

Sam Wakefield's ancestral home, a decaying mansion built on the edge of a swamp, isn't a place for children. Its labyrinthine halls, built by her mad ancestors, are filled with echoes of the past: ghosts and memories knotted together as one. In the presence of phantoms, it's all Sam can do to disentangle past from present in her daily life.

But when her pregnant sister Elizabeth moves in after a fight with her husband, something in the house shifts. Already navigating her tumultuous relationship with Elizabeth, Sam is even more unsettled by the appearance of a new ghost: a faceless boy who commits disturbing acts--threatening animals, terrorizing other children, and following Sam into the depths of the house wielding a knife. When it becomes clear the boy is connected to a locked, forgotten room, one which is never entered, Sam realizes this ghost is not like the others. This boy brings doom...

As Elizabeth's due date approaches, Sam must unravel the mysteries of Wakefield before her sister brings new life into a house marked by death. But as the faceless boy grows stronger, Sam will learn that some doors should stay closed--and some secrets are safer locked away forever.

Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"In It Will Just Be Us, Jo Kaplan channels Shirley Jackson adding her own depth and haunting style. The best haunted house novel I've read since Sarah Langan's Audrey's Door." - Daniel Braum

"Jo Kaplan's novel It Will Just Be Us is a triumph of gothic fiction. Haunting and addictive, the evocative language leads the reader along a deliciously horrifying path to an ending we both dread and wait for with held breath. A must-read for horror fans." - Darcy Coates

"A truly chilling novel with an ending that will take your breath away. Mad Catherine's house is (literally) the stuff of nightmares, and in Julian, Jo has created one of the most frightening characters I've come across since Gabe from Pet Semetary. I couldn't read it too late at night, and I had to cover up my mirrors! Also very glad I live in a modern house nowhere near a swamp." - Melanie Golding

"There are few new writing stars rising faster or shining brighter than Jo Kaplan...Beautifully hypnotic and eerie, this novel is a must-have for fans of the literary macabre." - Eric J Guignard

"Marvelously atmospheric, emphatically suspenseful and beautifully written, Jo Kaplan's It Will Just Be Us had my full attention from its deliciously creepy first page and kept frightening me straight through to the end." - Laird Hunt

"Kaplan conjures a bracing, surreal world in which the passage of time--properly understood--may herald the greatest horror of all...This mysterious world sucks you in and keeps you turning pages." - Scott Kenemore

"Kaplan writes with extraordinary skill and authority, balancing the supernatural with the psychological...A vibrant, thrilling novel of family love and conflict." - S P Miskowski

"Jo Kaplan's It Will Just Be Us is a chilling, poetic, modern Gothic masterpiece. Evocative and reflective, this is a story that haunted my imagination for many a night." - John Palisano

"It Will Just Be Us is a beautifully written, gripping Gothic story complete with a decaying house, a dysfunctional family, and hidden secrets. It simmers with darkness and danger and kept me turning pages until late in the night. I loved it!" - Damien Angelica Walters


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jo Kaplan's It Will Just Be Us

Hardback Editions

September 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us: A Novel
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
ISBN: 1-64385-449-6 / 978-1-64385-449-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
ISBN: 1-66203-178-5 / 978-1-66203-178-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
ISBN: 1-66202-803-2 / 978-1-66202-803-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: It Will Just Be Us: A Novel
Author(s): Jo Kaplan
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU