book cover of Enchanted Evening

Enchanted Evening

(The third book in the Share of Summer series)
A non fiction book by

This third volume of Mollie Kaye's autobiography continues the story of her lifelong love affair with India, described so vividly in "The Sun in the Morning" and "Golden Afternoon".

This text, however, begins in 1932 with Mollie, aged 24, reluctantly accompanying her parents and sister to what her father hopes will be a pleasant retirement in north China. Mollie finds herself disorientated by the social whirl of Peking, but fascinated with Chinese art and the giddy pleasure of independence as she makes a success of her painting. But the increasingly turbulent politics in China makes it an uncomfortable place for foreigners, and to the great relief of his daughters, their father decides to return to India.

Later on we see Mollie move to cramped digs in London, where she begins her career as a writer - and earn enough money to return to the beloved country of her birth. She describes many happy months spent in India: travelling widely, meeting old and new friends, working during wartime, briefly falling for a "professional heart-breaker" and receiving persistent marriage proposals from a keen suitor. Finally, among the cool hills, scented blossoms and sparkling lakes of Kashmir, this chapter of her story closes as she meets the one true love of her life.

Used availability for M M Kaye's Enchanted Evening

Hardback Editions

January 2003 : UK Hardback

Title: Enchanted Evening (Charnwood Library)
Author(s): M M Kaye
ISBN: 0-7089-9412-1 / 978-0-7089-9412-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Charnwood (Large Print)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

December 2000 : USA Hardback

Title: Enchanted Evening: Volume III of the Autobiography of M. M. Kaye
Author(s): M M Kaye
ISBN: 0-312-26581-6 / 978-0-312-26581-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

November 1999 : USA Hardback

Title: Enchanted evening: Being the third part of Share of summer, her autobiography
Author(s): M M Kaye
ISBN: 0-670-88683-1 / 978-0-670-88683-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Paperback Editions

November 2000 : UK Paperback

Title: Enchanted Evening: Being the Third Part of 'Share of Summer', Her Autobiography
Author(s): M M Kaye
ISBN: 0-14-028515-6 / 978-0-14-028515-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Audio Editions

March 2001 : USA Audio Cassette

Title: Enchanted Evening
Author(s): M M Kaye
ISBN: 0-7366-6386-X / 978-0-7366-6386-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Books on Tape
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA