book cover of Tank War

Tank War

(1968)
(The second book in the Mission series)
A novel by

 
 
"Carthage is a man used to wearing suits for meetings with the clients and fatigues for work in the field. Whether it is a briefcase or an automatic in his hand, he is able to handle the job."-Spy Guys and Gals. Peter Carthage battles an outlaw army and a man with more than human powers in this thriller by the two time Edgar Award and American Book Award finalist author, Michael Kurland, himself a former U.S. military intelligence officer, that accurately foresaw the future. Thirty years later the plot of this novel would be real headlines. A small, oil-rich Arab nation is about to be invaded by a superior enemy force led by unstoppable tanks. While in the shadows a fanatic religious leader waits like a spider with his own army of suicide killers. The U.S. can not intervene. So, it's up to debonair agent Peter Carthage and the men from W.A.R. (Weapons Analysis and Research, Inc.), a company with an ultra-scientific approach to warfare - if they feel the cause is just. How many men from W.A.R. does it take to stop 2000 raging desert warriors, fifty top of the line Soviet built tanks, and untold numbers of drug-crazed assassini? Six, plus one beautiful, plucky young British woman determined to rescue a kidnapped brother. All in this Never-Before-Reprinted classic by former intelligence agent and American Book Award and Nebula Award finalist, Michael Kurland. Fans of Jason Bourne, James Bond, I Spy, and The Man from U.N.C.L.E. will love Peter Carthage, the Man from W.A.R.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Michael Kurland's Tank War

Paperback Editions

September 2016 : UK Paperback

Title: Mission: Tank War
Author(s): Michael Kurland
ISBN: 1-4448-2987-4 / 978-1-4448-2987-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Linford Mystery
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2011 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Tank War Mission [The Classic Adventures of Peter Carthage, the Man from W.A.R.]
Author(s): Michael Kurland
ISBN: 1-61508-372-3 / 978-1-61508-372-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Renaissance eBooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2011 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: THE TANK WAR MISSION [The Classic 1960s Man from W.A.R. Series]
Author(s): Michael Kurland
Publisher: PageTurner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU