book cover of The Big Sheep
Added by 1 of our members

The Big Sheep

(2016)
(The first book in the Big Sheep series)
A novel by

 
 
Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA, the Disincorporated Zone, was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city. Navigating the boundaries between DZ and LA proper is a tricky task, and there's no one better suited than eccentric private investigator Erasmus Keane. When a valuable genetically altered sheep mysteriously goes missing from Esper Corporation's labs, Keane is the one they call.

But while the erratic Keane and his more grounded partner, Blake Fowler, are on the trail of the lost sheep, they land an even bigger case. Beautiful television star Priya Mistry suspects that someone is trying to kill her - and she wants Keane to find out who. When Priya vanishes and then reappears with no memory of having hired them, Keane and Fowler realize something very strange is going on. As they unravel the threads of the mystery, it soon becomes clear that the two cases are connected - and both point to a sinister conspiracy involving the most powerful people in the city. Saving Priya and the sheep will take all of Keane's wits and Fowler's skills, but in the end, they may discover that some secrets are better left hidden.

Kroese's The Big Sheep is perfect for fans of Philip Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, Terry Pratchett's Guards! Guards!, and Scalzi's Old Man's War.

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
All Systems Red
(Murderbot Diaries, book 1)
Martha Wells
thumb
The Liberators
(Countdown, book 1)
Tom Kratman
thumb
Kill Team
(Galaxy's Edge, book 3)
Jason Anspach and Nick Cole

Used availability for Rob Kroese's The Big Sheep

Hardback Editions

June 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Big Sheep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Kroese
ISBN: 1-250-08844-5 / 978-1-250-08844-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Big Sheep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Kroese
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Big Sheep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Kroese
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Big Sheep
Author(s): Robert Kroese
Publisher: St. Culain Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Big Sheep: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Kroese
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA