Brian Keene's picture
33 followers

Brian Keene


USA flag (b.1967)

Brian Keene is a two-time Bram Stoker Award winning horror author, first in 2001 for his non-fiction work Jobs In Hell and then again in 2003 for his debut novel, the post-apocalyptic zombie tale The Rising. In 2004, he won the Shocker Award for his non-fiction work Sympathy For the Devil. His other novels include Dead Sea, Ghoul, City of the Dead, Terminal, The Conqueror Worms, Fear Of Gravity, and more. Several of his books and stories have been optioned for film, video game and comic book adaptations.

Genres: Horror, Fantasy
 
Novels
   Terminal (2004)
   The Rutting Season (2006)
   The Conqueror Worms (2006)
     aka Earthworm Gods
   The Hollow (2006)
   Ghoul (2007)
   Dead Sea (2007)
   Redemption (2008) (with Shane Ryan Staley)
   Kill Whitey (2008)
   Castaways (2009)
   Urban Gothic (2009)
   Shades (2011) (with Geoff Cooper)
   The Damned Highway (2011) (with Nick Mamatas)
   Entombed (2012)
   An Occurrence in Crazy Bear Valley (2012)
   The Complex (2016)
   Pressure (2016)
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
Collections
   No Rest for the Wicked (2001)
   4 x 4 (2001) (with Geoff Cooper, Michael T Huyck and Michael Oliveri)
   Talking Smack (2002)
   The Rise and Fall of Babylon (2003) (with John Urbancik)
   No Rest At All (2003)
   Fear of Gravity (2004)
   Unhappy Endings (2009)
   Infernally Yours (2009) (with John Everson, Charlee Jacob, Edward Lee, John Shirley and Maynard Sims)
   Grave Conditions (2010) (with J A Konrath, Jonathan Maberry, Scott Nicholson and Stephen Susco)
   Four Rode Out (2010) (with Tim Curran, Tim Lebbon and Steve Vernon)
   Zombies: The Recent Dead (2011) (with Max Brooks, Tobias S Buckell, Neil Gaiman, Joe R Lansdale, Tim Lebbon, Kelly Link and Kit Reed)
   Intermusings (2012) (with Brian A Hopkins, Patricia Lee Macomber, Stephen Mark Rainey, John B Rosenman, Richard Rowand, Brett Savory and David Niall Wilson)
   Earthworm Gods II: Deluge (2013)
   Blood on the Page Volume 1 (2013)
   Sixty-Five Stirrup Iron Road (2013) (with J F Gonzalez, Ryan Harding, Jack Ketchum, Edward Lee, Shane McKenzie, Bryan Smith, Nate Southard and Wrath James White)
   Where We Live and Die (2015)
   All Dark, All The Time (2016)
   Unearthed (2016) (with Richard Chizmar and Ray Garton)
   My Favorite Story (2017) (with Erin Al-Mehairi, Chuck Buda, Thomas R Clark, Frank J Edler, Amber Fallon, Christopher Golden, Jonathan Maberry, James A Moore, Kelli Owen, Armand Rosamilia, Mary SanGiovanni and Jay Wilburn)
   Silverwood: The Door (2019) (with Richard Chizmar, Michelle Garza, Stephen Kozeniewski and Melissa Lason)
   Love Letters From A Nihilist: Volume 3 (2019)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Graphic Novels
thumbthumb
 
Novellas
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumb
 
Anthologies edited
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumb
 
Non fiction
no image availablethumb
 
Awards
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2006) : The Conqueror Worms


Brian Keene recommends
thumb
Deadliest of the Species (2001)
Michael Oliveri
"...This is one hell of a knuckle-turner. [Oliveri's] debut novel has all the makings of a classic. If you wish you had discovered Stephen King with Carrie, then don't wait to buy this one. Get it now!"
thumb
The Bleeding Season (2003)
Greg F Gifune
"Greg Gifune is one of the absolute best voices in dark fiction."
thumb
Dragged Into Darkness (2003)
Simon Wood
"Simon Wood is a powerful new voice in the art of dark storytelling. His prose is surreal, unique...and disturbing. The stories in this collection will indeed drag you into darkness - and you'll love every minute of it! A promising debut from a future master of terror."
thumb
The Last Motel (2005)
Brett McBean
"The Last Motel is fun; a thrilling, white-knuckled suspense read. Mcbean's voice is one that should be heard - a hint of Laymon and Koontz, yet distinctly his own. Genuinely creepy stuff!"
thumb
The Summer I Died (2006)
(Roger Huntington Saga, book 1)
Ryan C Thomas
"A tense, bloody ride!"
thumb
The Freakshow (2007)
Bryan Smith
"Bryan Smith serves up a feast of good old-fashioned horror."
thumb
Dying To Live (2007)
(Dying To Live, book 1)
Kim Paffenroth
"A high-octane thinking man's horror novel with beautiful and gruesome imagery."
thumb
The Desert (2007)
Bryon Morrigan
"The Desert has more dangerous twists and sinister turns than Richard Nixon on crystal meth. When the end comes, all I need is a fifth of whiskey, a loaded handgun, and a copy of this book."
thumb
Found You (2008)
(Hollower, book 2)
Mary SanGiovanni
"Mary SanGiovanni is one of my favorite authors."
thumb
River Runs Red (2008)
Jeffrey J Mariotte
"One of the best storytellers in the business."
thumb
Water Witch (2008)
Deborah LeBlanc
"LeBlanc's prose is smooth, quick and as darkly beautiful as the midnight bayou."
thumb
Reservoir Gods (2009)
Brian Knight
"Say hello to horror's next big thing."
thumb
The Devil Next Door (2009)
Tim Curran
"The Devil Next Door is dynamite! Visceral, violent, and disturbing!"
thumb
Phantom (2009)
Paul Tremblay and Sean Wallace
"An outstanding anthology... Haunting, provocative and immensely enjoyable."
thumb
Just Like Hell (2011)
Nate Southard
"Realistic and unflinching in it's brutality."
thumb
All-Monster Action! (2012)
Cody Goodfellow
"Compulsive, breakneck reading!"
thumb
This Dark Earth (2012)
John Hornor Jacobs
"This Dark Earth is, quite simply, the best zombie novel I've read in years. Breathes some much-needed new life into the dead."
thumb
Bio Melt (2015)
Carlton Mellick III
"The literary equivalent of putting your brain in a blender."
thumb
The Terminal (2016)
Amber Fallon
"A fun debut sure to appeal to fans of J.f. Gonzalez."
thumb
Hex-Rated (2017)
(Brimstone Files, book 1)
Jason Ridler
"Deliciously uncomfortable, wonderfully gritty, and a worthy successor to the occult detectives of old."
thumb
Cry Your Way Home (2018)
Damien Angelica Walters
"A hauntingly beautiful collection and emotional rollercoaster. Tender, brutal, gentle, harrowing. I loved it."
thumb
Let There Be Dark (2018)
Tim McWhorter
"Crafting creepy thrillers in the vein of Tim McWhorter and Dean Koontz, Tim McWhorter doesn't disappoint!."
thumb
The Siren and The Specter (2018)
Jonathan Janz
"One of the best writers in modern horror to come along in the last decade."
thumb
A Voice So Soft (2019)
Patrick Lacey
"Patrick Lacey has quickly become a must-read for me with each new book."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors