book cover of Tender is the North
 

Tender is the North

(2024)
(The ninth book in the DI Jake Sawyer series)
A novel by

 
 

A wounded detective healing in the shadows.
A twisted killer luring him back to the light.

---

JAKE SAWYER is isolated. A year after checking into a psychiatric unit, he has found peace by cutting contact with his previous world, living offline and refusing visitors.

When Sawyer’s ex-colleagues arrest a single father for abusing bodies at a hospital mortuary, the man records an emotional video confession, sealing his fate. But with his young daughter missing for two weeks, the case soon develops into something more complex and sinister.

As the implications unravel, a young woman is found murdered, having suffered similar post-mortem abuse. Police suspect the man the press have dubbed The Vulture might not be in their jail cell, but out on the streets.

Sawyer resists the urge to end his exile and untangle the case. But when his own mother’s ailing killer contacts him with an unrefusable offer, he faces the grim truth: no matter how hard he works to build a brighter future, his past has a way of hunting him down.

---

This dark and pacy British detective novel is a murder mystery with twists, dark humour and a compelling lead character whose backstory continues through the series.

TENDER IS THE NORTH is the ninth book in this addictive series of page-turning crime thrillers from one of the UK’s sharpest writers.

Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Ian Rankin, MJ Arlidge, LJ Ross and Michael Connelly.

---

Praise for Andrew Lowe:
★★★★★ "Prose that gets under your flesh and into your bones."
★★★★★ "Taut and compelling. Not a wasted word."
★★★★★ "Plot and character perfectly intertwined."
★★★★★ "Keeps you reading through the night."
★★★★★ "Poetic and utterly gripping."
Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors